Video Collections - Journalism - Finding and Using Images, Maps, Video & Audio - Library Guides at University of Missouri Libraries

MU Libraries' Video Databases

Ethnographic Video Online
Provides access to films ;with an emphasis on culture and related areas. Covers regions around the world and includes interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, interviews with filmmakers, contemporaneous footage and photographs and more.
Thematic areas include: language and culture, food and foraging, economic systems, social stratification and status, caste systems and slavery, political organization, religion and magic, music and the arts, culture and personality, and sex, gender, and family roles.
All videos are transcribed and fully searchable.
Free account can be created for personalization.
Maximum Users: Unlimited

Help: https://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://search.alexanderstreet.com/help
Naxos Video Library
A streaming video library of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts, documentaries, and master classes.
Maximum Users: 10
AdForum
An internationally focused database on different mediums in advertisements, including audio and video. Also provides access to other advertising agency information and news.
Provides access to over 35,000 different advertisements.

Biblioteca Virtual de Ciencias Sociales de Am�rica Latina y el CaribeThe Latin American and Caribbean social science virtual library provides access to over 7000 full text documents, a databases of publications and research projects, a directory of researchers, and a collection of multimedia resources–video, audio, and images.

NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS)NTRS provides access to approximately 500K aerospace related citations, 90K full-text online documents, and 111K images and videos. The type of information found in NTRS include: conference papers, images, journal articles, photos, meeting papers, movies, patents, research reports, and technical videos.

Creative Commons & Public Domain Video Resources

Creative Commons Video Creative Commons licensed video media compiled from the video blog at creativecommons.org/video.

Wikimedia Commons "A database of 10,265,274 freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute." Provides public domain and freely-licensed content -- also includes images and sound clips.

Public Domain Flicks allows downloading of full-length feature films that are in the public domain.

Some Videos May Have Creative Commons Licenses Attached

Videvo offers free stock videos and motion graphics for use in any project. You may use these video clips free of charge in both personal and commercial productions. Video clips that carry the Creative Commons 3.0 license must attribute the original auto
YouTube hosts user-generated video.
Internet Archive: Moving Image Archive Internet Archive's library of free movies, films, animations, and videos. Look for the Creative Commons License to see if/how you can use the media.

Always look for "Terms of Use," "Legal," or copyright statement on any database to make sure that your use is acceptable.

Fee-Based Stock Video Collection

Footage.net is a fee-based collection of stock and news footage.
The Videvo Plus subscription gives you access to 20,000 additional stock footage clips, extended licensing on existing free content, and higher quality downloads. The Videvo Pro subscription gives you access to everything in the Plus account, and access to 100,000 sound effects and music tracks.

Videos in MU licensed databases may be restricted to:

Videos cannot be used, without permission from the vendor, for:

Always look for "Terms of Use," "Legal," or copyright statement on any database to make sure that your use is acceptable.