Library Guides: Industrial Engineering Undergraduate Seminar: Web Research

Where should I start my research?

Can't I just use Wikipedia?

You can't use Wiki for scholarly papers, but this video will show you how to use it to your advantage!

How do I find articles on my topic?

How do I find an article?

Finding articles

Where can I find peer-reviewed or scholarly articles for my topic?

Peer-reviewed articles

How do I know if the Library subscribes to the journal/article I need?

What if I need an article that’s not available at Mizzou?

Request an Item

Can I get into these databases from home / off-campus?

Remote Access to Library Online Resources

Recommended Databases for Articles

Academic Search Premier
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than an abundance of journals and covers extensive academic disciplines and provides comprehensive content, including PDF back-files, videos, and searchable cited references.
Contains 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

Date Coverage:Varies; primarily 1970s-present with some titles covering earlier dates

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; wildcard: ?

Auto Alerts: http://libraryguides.missouri.edu/alerts/ebsco
Engineering Village
Multidisciplinary applied engineering, mathematical, and physical and materials science databases. Cross searches Compendex (engineering), Knovel (STEM ebooks), and Georef (geology, geography, physical sciences).
Free account can be created for personalization.
Date Coverage: 1970-date
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Truncation: * Wildcard: ?
User's Guide: http://ei.org/Support_Training
Business Source Premier
Provides full-text for nearly 2,200 peer-reviewed and trade business journals. Also included are company profiles, industry reports, market research reports, and SWOT analysis.
Date Coverage: 1922-date

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?
ProQuest Technology Collection
Indexes abstracts, tables and figures, and includes full-text journals. Comprised of ProQuest Advanced Technologies with Aerospace Collection; ProQuest Materials Science Collection; ProQuest Engineering Collection; ProQuest Computer Science Collection; and ProQuest Illustrata: Technology. Coverage starts from 1962.
Scopus
Database with abstracts and citations of research literature and quality web sources, including journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, abstracts, and patent records. A multidisciplinary resource covering materials from the humanities, sciences and social sciences. Also indexes EMBASE and allows you to locate the most highly cited items and the articles that cite them.
Date Coverage: 1970-present; selected access back to 1823

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

Search Guide: http://help.scopus.com

Tutorial: https://supporthub.scopus.com

Auto Alerts: http://library.missouri.edu/search/databases/alertslist.htm#scopus

More databases

Reference and Research Help

Visit us at the Front Desk

Fall 2023 Semester

Mon-Thur 8am-10pm

Fri 8am-5pm

Sat 1pm-10pm

*Hours subject to change during holidays and intercessions.

Library Hours

Call Us

573-882-2715

Contact Information