Library Guides: Career and Job Search Resources: Background Information

Websites with Job Hunting Advice

Quintessential Careers: College, Careers, and Jobs guide
Quintessential Careers provides a collection best cover letter tools, expert advice, tips, and resources, including articles, tutorials, quizzes, and samples.
Career Perfect
Advice on job searching, career planning, resume/CV writing, interviewing, and more.
The Job-Hunter's Bible
A supplement both to the annual, "What Color Is Your Parachute: A Practical Manual for Job-Hunters and Career-Changers," as well as to my the book, "The Job-Hunters’ Survival Guide: How to Find Hope and Rewarding Work, Even When ‘There Are No Jobs.'”
The Riley Guide
The Web's premier gateway for job search,
career exploration and school information, since 1994.
Skills Inventory
Take this assessment to review your current skills. Then, take it a second time to review your current skills AND desired skills to get a new or modified list of occupational titles.

Research on Employers

Company or institutional websites can give you a picture of the organization and may include information on employee benefits and job openings.

Search for articles on a specific employer and narrow the results by adding some of these terms:
corporate culture, organizational behavior, job satisfaction, work environment, personnel management, employee attitude, employee benefits, employee morale, employee turnover, employee complaints.

Factiva
Factiva contains business and financial data on companies from around the world. It also provides access to current issues and an archive of over 8,000 publications from around the globe. License terms restrict access to MU students, faculty and staff only.
Also includes continuously updated newswires.
Date Coverage: Varies
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation:Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

License terms restrict access to MU students, faculty, and staff only.

User's Guide: http://proquest.libguides.com/factiva

Vault: Career Intelligence
Get details on companies, internships, schools, jobs, and career advice.
Career One Stop: Research Employers
Provides advice on what questions to ask about potential employers, and how to find the answers.

Email ListServs

Websites of professional associations provide a picture of the profession and many include the option of signing up for email notification systems regarding news and updates in the field or new job listings.

Here are a few field specific associations as examples:

National Association for Business Economics (NABE)

Nation al Science Teacher's Association (NSTA)

American Chemical Society

National Women's Studies Association (NWSA)

American Journalism Review: Journalism Organizations

National Society of Professional Engineers (NSPE)

American Psychological Association (APA)

Run a Google search for associations with your field of study to find further resources, and please leave a comment if you believe there are other associations that would be beneficial to include.