Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

English Literature: Modern and Contemporary: Find Research & Criticism

Find Book Reviews

Book reviews may not be as analytical or scholarly as criticism, but reflect more immediate reaction to a book upon publication. This page provides Tips and Resources for finding Book Reviews in databases and other sources.

Finding Poetry & Short Story Criticism

Finding criticism of specific poems or stories can sometimes be difficult. If you're stuck, try searching the full text in the databases or in Google Book Search. These print reference books can also be helpful:

Poetry Criticism
Reference PN1010 .P499 

Short Story Criticism
Reference PN3373 .S386 

Both are indexed in Literary Index.

Literature Databases and Ongoing Bibliographies

Databases can help you find journal articles on your topic.

For more specific bibliographies see A Guide to Serial Bibliographies for Modern Literatures, Reference PN695 .W67 1995.

Literary Criticism

Keywords/Topics

Use this list of keywords when searching in the library catalog or databases:

contemporary literature

postmodern literature

postcolonial literature

literature, 21st century

literature, 20th centrury

If searching for information on a particular author, try:

Author's Last Name, First Name

For information on a particular work, try:

"Title of Work"