Library Guides: Special Education: Find Books

Finding Books

Finding books using Discover@MU

This research guide provides information on how to use Discover@MU to find books. It also provides useful information on how to see your library account and manage your book requests and loans.

Keyword Search: Type keywords that describe your topic into the search box. Use quotation marks to search for phrases.

Example: obesity and sugar*

Subject Search: Use the Subject Search to search for names, events, etc.

Example: Obesity in adolescence

MOBIUS Catalog is an online union catalog of academic libraries in the state of Missouri. It contains over 18 million items that are requestable and deliverable in 3 days.

Why use Google Books?

Google Books searches the full-text of books. It is great for narrow topics because it lets you search within the text of books--you can see the table of contents, index or a portion of the contents of the book. You can then locate the book in a nearby library.

Handbooks

Children with special needs in early childhood settings : identification, intervention, inclusion
For educators concerned with early intervention, also lists North American referral and resource agencies, covers physical and behavioral characteristics of children through age seven.
The general educator's guide to special education : a resource handbook for all who teach students with special needs
Describes disability categories with possible educational approaches; the special education system from pre-referral to placement; practical easy-to-implement curriculum and behavioral adaptations and modifications
The school counselor's guide to special education
Clarifies the school counselor’s role in special education and answers questions about meeting the academic, social, and career needs of students with disabilities.
The special educator's book of lists
Provides 192 reproducible lists brimming with useful facts that cover essential assessment, diagnosis, remediation, legal, and procedural information.
The special educator's survival guide
Practical guide to every facet of the special education teacher’s job, from teaching in a self-contained classroom or resource room to serving on a multidisciplinary team.
Special kids problem solver
Gives key information and practical strategies needed to recognize and respond effectively to 30 of the most common problems encountered in today's classrooms, including: academic problems, behavioral problems, and physical problems.

Encyclopedias

Concise Encyclopedia of Special Education by Cecil R. Reynolds; Elaine Fletcher-Janzen (Editor)
The Concise Encyclopedia of Special Education, Second Edition is a comprehensive resource for those working in the fields of special education research and practice.
Education and Sociology by David Levinson (Editor); Peter W. Cookson (Editor); Alan R. Sadovnik (Editor)
Provides researchers with access to details on a wide range of topics and issues in the sociology of education. Entries cover both national and international perspectives and studies, as well as tackling controversial points in education today, including gender inequality, globalization, minorities, meritocracy, and more.
Encyclopedia of Special Education by Cecil R. Reynolds; Elaine Fletcher-Janzen
Includes entries covering the full gamut of special education research and practice. Entries include biographies, reviews of assessment instruments and teaching approaches, cross-cultural issues, legal issues, overviews of specific learning disabilities, and much more
Encyclopedia of Special Education by Cecil R. Reynolds (Editor); Elaine Fletcher-Janzen (Editor)
This comprehensive resource features school psychology, neuropsychology, reviews of new tests and curricula that have been developed since publication of the second edition in 1999, and biographies of important figures in special education. It also addresses issues of importance ranging from theory to practice.