Skip to Main Content

Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering: Patents & Standards

Tips, techniques & links to help you find answers for your research papers & projects

Standards

ASTM Compass
ASTM Compass (formerly ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library) is a collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information, including ASTM standards, ASTM journals, research reports, selected technical papers, manuals, data series, symposia papers, a terminology dictionary and more.
Date Coverage: NA

Maximum Users: 2

Truncation:
Truncation/Wildcard for numbers: *;Automatic truncation for text
IEEE Xplore
Access to IET/IEE (Institution of Engineering and Technology) Journals and IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) transactions, journals, magazines, and conference proceedings and all current IEEE standards.
Free account can be created for personalization.
Date Coverage: 1988-date
Maximum Users: 20
Truncation: Truncation: * Wildcard: ?

ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code
This internationally recognized code establishes rules of safety governing the design, fabrication, and inspection of boilers and pressure vessels. An American national standard, the ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code, Section II - Materials, contains four parts that efficiently organize the important materials data used in ASME code design and construction of boilers and pressure vessels.
ASME Standards

Patents

Core Resources

Google Advanced Patent Search (PDFs available for free)
U.S. Patents and Patent Applications -- Full-Text Images (1790 to date)
- FREE AlternaTIFF Viewer for Images

Patent Lens
- Full-text of 7 million patent documents from US, Europe, Australia, WIPO, and counterparts in up to 60 countries.

European Patent Office -- espacenet.com
- Dates of coverage -- vary by country
Free Patents Online
Download patents from the U.S. and the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)in pdf or TIFF formats.
International Patents

Guide to Downloading Patent Copies on the Internet
Lists free web sites and software tools that allow you to download patents as PDF documents
Patents and Other Links (from the British Library)
Gateway to a wealth of patent information on the web, concentrating on world-wide sources compiled by the British Lending Library -- databases, tutorials, associations, publications, manuals, document suppliers and many others!

Additional Resources

Last Updated: Apr 2, 2024 11:01 AM
URL: https://libraryguides.missouri.edu/mae
Print Page

Subjects: Engineering & Computer Science

Tags: mechanical & aerospace engineering, subject guides