Skip to main content

History: Archives Offering Funding

Tips, techniques & links to help you find answers for your research papers & projects

Archives

Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library (for use of Langum Family Papers or the de Mattos Family Papers) (Springfield, Illinois)

American Antiquarian Society (Worcester)

American Indian Studies Program at Michigan State University Pre-Doctoral Dissertation Fellowship Award in American Indian Studies (East Lansing) (Finishing Grant)

American Philosophical Society (Philadelphia)

American Society for Eighteenth Century Studies (funds research to a dozen institutions)

Bancroft Library Study Award (Berkeley, CA) (For UC grad students only)

Baylor Institute for Oral History 
Research Fellowship (Waco, TX)

Beinecke Library (New Haven)

Boston Athenaeum (Boston)

Carl Albert Congressional Research and Studies Center, University of Oklahoma

Center for Historical Research at the Ohio State University (Columbus, OH)

Clark Center Short Term Fellowships (UCLA)

Clements Center for Southwest Studies at Southern Methodist University

Clements Library, Jacob Price Visiting Research (Ann Arbor)

Colonial Williamsburg Foundation Fellowship at the Rockefeller Library (Williamsburg)

Cuban Heritage Collection Research Fellowship (U. of Miami)

David Library of the American Revolution (Washington’s Crossing, PA)

Duke University Library (Durham, N.C.)

Emory University Library, Jean Harvey Slappy Research Fellowship (Atlanta)

Filson Historical Society Fellowship (Kentucky)

Folger Shakespeare Library (Washington D.C.)

Francis A. Countway Library Fellowships in the History of Medicine; Harvard University (Boston)

Friends of the Longfellow House Research Fellowships (Cambridge)

Gerald R. Ford Presidential Library (Ann Arbor, Michigan)

Gest Fellowship for Quaker Studies (Haverford College)

Gilder Lehrman Center for the Study of Slavery, Resistance, and Abolition (Numerous New England locations)

Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History (NYC)

Archives

Harry Ransom Library (Texas)

Harry S. Truman Library Institute (Independence, MO)

Herbert Hoover Presidential Library (West Branch, Iowa)

Historic New Orleans Collection; Dianne Woest Fellowship (New Orleans)

Howard Lamar Center for the Study of Frontiers and Borders (New Haven)

Huntington Library (San Marino, CA) (Many of them that range from U.S. Western History, History of Science, British History, California History))

John Carter Brown Library (Providence, RI) (Many of them)

John F. Kennedy Library (Boston) (Many of them

Kentucky Historical Society (Frankfort, KY)

Kluge Center Fellowships (Washington D.C.)

Lewis Walpole Library Fellowships (Connecticut)

Library Company of Philadelphia (Philadelphia)

Lillian Gary Taylor Fellowship in American Literature (UVA)

Maryland Historical Society (Baltimore, check on funding)

Massachusetts Historical Society (Boston) (Many of them)

McNeil Center for Early American Studies (Philadelphia)

Mount Vernon Hotel Museum & Garden, William Randolph Hearst Fellowships

Nantucket Historical Association 
E. Geoffrey and Elizabeth Thayer Verney Fellowship (Nantucket)

National Maritime Museum Caird Short Term Research Fellowship (Greenwich, U.K.)

National Sporting Library and Museum; John Daniels Fellowship (Horse and Field Sports) (Middleburg, VA)

Naval War College 
The Edward S. Miller Research Fellowship in Naval History (Newport, R.I.)

Newberry Library (Chicago) (Many of them)

New England Regional Fellowship Consortium (New England)

New York Public Library Research Fellowships (NYC)

New York State Archives 
Larry J. Hackman Research Residency Program (Albany)

North Caroliniana Society 
Archie K. Davis Fellowships

Peabody Essex Museum 
Frances E. Malamy Fellowship (Salem, MA)

Philadelphia Area Center for History of Science (PACHS) (sh to use the collections of two or more institutions in the PACHS consortium.)

Princeton University Library Research Grants (Princeton, N.J.)

Program in Early American Economy and Society at the Library Company (Philadelphia)

Quaker Collection, Haverford College;
Gest Fellowships (Outside Philadelphia)

The Research Center for Urban Cultural History at the University of Massachusetts Boston; Flaherty Visiting Fellowship

Rockefeller Research Center (Tarrytown, N.Y.)

Roosevelt Institute (Hyde Park, N.Y.)

Smithsonian Institute (Washington D.C.)

-Among others: Latino Studies Fellowship Program

Society of the Cincinnati, Tyree Lamb Fellowship (Washington D.C.)

Southern Baptist Historical Library and Archives. (Tennessee)

University of Chicago Special Collections; Robert L. Platzman Memorial Fellowship

University of North Carolina Greensboro University Library

University of Wisconsin, Madison Library Grant-in-Aid

U.S. Army Military History Institute 
General & Mrs. Matthew B. Ridgway Military History Research Grant (Carlisle, PA)

Virginia Historical Society (Richmond, VA)

William Andrews Clark Memorial Library (L. A.)

William P. Clements Center for Southwest Studies (Dallas)

Winterthur (Delaware)

White House Historical Association (D.C.)

Yale Center for British Art (New Haven)