Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search for Dissertations
There are several methods for finding dissertations on a topic.
- MU dissertations written since 1995 are available full-text online through the database Current Research @ MU. You can search by author, advisor or keyword. This database also provides citations for pre-1995 MU dissertations.
- Dissertations not available full-text in Current Research @ MU are available in paper at the UM Libraries Depository. To find these dissertations, go to the MERLIN Online Catalog. If you have the citation information from the record in Current Research @ MU, search by author or title. You can use the Request Item function to borrow a dissertation and have it delivered to your local academic institution.
- The MU Graduate School stores dissertations and theses in MOspace.
- To find information about dissertations written at other institutions, search the Dissertation Abstracts database. You can search by keyword, author, advisor, institution and many other fields. If you identify dissertations not available via MERLIN or MOBIUS and you want to request the complete dissertation, you can submit a dissertation interlibrary loan request.
- WorldCat Dissertations is another database that provides information about dissertations written at other institutions.
- Two sites offer some dissertations full-text online free of charge: Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations and Theses Canada.