For Discover @ MU, MERLIN, and other databases.
By Ternit (Own work) [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons
Sustainability in Architecture and Urban Design [electronic resource] by
Sustainability in Architecture and Urban Design will help you understand the nature of the sustainability problem and show you how to implement your design for a sustainable future. Organized in six parts, the problem, the environment, the residential scale, the commercial scale, the urban scale, and energy sources, the book presents essential information in context, so that you get the full picture. Hundreds of drawings, sketches, charts, and diagrams illustrate points author Carl Bovill makes in his clear and direct style, which communicates the basics in a concise way. You'll learn: -About environmental economics -How sustainable architectural design relates to ecology -How fractal geometry can lead to a new understanding of the structure of the world around us -How to design energy efficient houses and commercial buildings -How to design and live in our cities to lower energy use per person -About LEED points at all scales A glossary and reading lists encourage you to explore the topics further.
Lessons from Modernism by
This valuable reference for today's green building movement examines twentieth-century modern architecture, including buildings by Le Corbusier and Oscar Niemeyer, through the lens of sustainability. nbsp; The hottest topics in contemporary architectural design and architectural history--the focus on sustainability and the evaluation of the modern movement--meet in Lessons from Modernism, a partnership with The Cooper Union that explores the ways in which the straightforward functional approach of modernist design creates environmentally sensitive solutions. nbsp; Lessons from Modernism provides new insights into 25 buildings by a diverse selection of architects, including Frank Lloyd Wright, Paul Rudolph, Jean Prouvé, and Arne Jacobsen, and demonstrates how these architects integrated environmental concerns into their designs. Buildings are located across the United States, Central and South America, Cuba, Japan and more--and include houses, art centers, commercial buildings, and civic buildings. Lessons from Modernism is an affordable reference work for all interested in how architecture intersects with the green movement, pairing full descriptions of all buildings with analytical essays, featuring charts of climate zones and solar movement, and concluding with a comprehensive chronology that details how environmental consciousness evolved throughout the twentieth century.
Energy Efficient Buildings with Solar and Geothermal Resources by
A modern and unique perspective on solar and geothermal technologies for heating and cooling buildings. This book will have a broad appeal reaching practicing engineers in the industry as well as students. With introductory sections for each technology described, material includes chapters on: geothermal energy use for the heating and cooling of buildings; a chapter on electrically driven heat pumps/chillers; material on night radiative cooling, photovoltaic thermal collectors, temperature modelling and thin film photovoltaic modelling. Includes general introductory sections for each technology with market potential and applications. Covers an increasingly important component of energy courses. Considers a broad range of alternative renewable energy supplies relevant to the building sector, such as geothermal energy with heat pump. With a special focus on solar cooling, provides detailed physical models of all technologies and example calculations. Unique in covering the fundamentals of meteorological modelling.
Innovative Houses by
Housing is rapidly having to adapt to the global changes of the twenty first century. These include the transformation of the family and the rise of the nontraditional household, increases in construction costs, and concerns over climate change and the depletion of natural resources. Designing residential environments that address these issues is an urgent priority. This book examines the latest residential design trends that have arisen in response to these challenges. Divided into four broad areas, tightly focused thematic chapters look at twenty discrete topics, such as live/work; adaptable housing; prefabrication; water efficiency; green roofs; innovative landscaping. Each chapter includes an essay that lays out principles, methods, and practices. Using text, drawings, and photos from a variety of contemporary international practices, the book demonstrates how these ideas can be applied by architects. It offers a comprehensive collection of strategies and examples that will inspire a much needed housing revolution.
Sustainability, Energy and Architecture by
This unique volume offers insights from renowned experts in energy efficient building from the world over, providing a multi-faceted overview of the state-of-the-art in energy efficient architecture. It opens by defining what constitutes a sustainable building, suggesting bases for sorely needed benchmarks, then explains the most important techniques and tools available to engineers and architects exploring green building technologies. It covers such pivotal issues as daylighting, LED lighting, integrating renewables such as solar thermal and cooling, retrofitting, LEED and similar certification efforts, passive houses, net-zero and close-zero structures, water recycling, and much more. Highlighting best practices for commercial buildings and private homes, in widely varied climates and within vastly different socio-economic contexts, this illustrated reference will guide architects and engineers in making sustainable choices in building materials and methods. Explains the best methods and materials to support energy efficient building Features case studies by experts from a dozen countries, demonstrating how sustainable architecture can be achieved in varied climates and economies Covers both new constructions and retrofitting of existing structures
Sustainable Landscaping by
While landscaping has the potential to be part of the solution to certain environmental problems, the quest for beauty can also produce effects that are harmful to the environment. Sustainable Landscaping: Principles and Practices examines landscape practices that adversely affect the environment, which occur in the process of constructing, implementing, and managing residential and commercial landscapes. It explores ways to change these practices to have a more positive effect, describing the principles of sustainable landscaping and proposing solutions to challenges that can arise. This book covers a wide range of landscape practices that fall under the broad subject of sustainability, providing detailed coverage of principles including the following: Conducting sustainability audits Using plants to maximize their benefits Regulating solar heat gain and loss with seasonal climate changes Directing wind using plants to minimize heat loss in winter and maintain cooling breezes in summer Addressing water quantity and quality Managing storm water Understanding and improving soil health Minimizing the impact of pesticides and herbicides Conserving energy and reducing air pollution Managing resources and reducing waste Each topic is introduced by providing background information and terminology, followed with practical solutions that are being implemented by landscape professionals. Written for a general audience--from students of landscaping to homeowners and professionals in the landscaping industry--this book provides background information and practical solutions, offering sustainable approaches to the way landscapes are designed and managed.
Environmentally Responsible Design by
At last, there's an authoritative guide to help interior designers apply green- building and sustainability applications to their environments. Sustainable Interior Design expertly introduces the principles of environmentally responsible design for interior environments. This useful reference provides beginning designers and experienced professionals alike with a comprehensive survey that coverers everything from theoretical approaches to current practices. It helps designers understand the environmentally responsible approach and make design decisions that are ethical and do not harm the world?s environment.
Contains technical information about green building as well as in-depth articles on building strategies, case studies, sustainable materials, and teaching resources.
Photograph by Arnold Plesse [GFDL or CC BY 3.0], via Wikimedia Commons. The dwellings in this photograph are energy-plus houses.
