Skip to Main Content

SOCIOL 4425W - Sociology of Food

Agricultural Lobbying - Databases to Search for Company or Organization Names

Open Secrets: Agriculture
Check here for top lobbying firms/groups in the Agribusiness sector and sub-sectors like Dairy, Poultry, etc. You can also see who they have contributed to, and read related news items.

ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Search Congressional hearings by Witness Affiliation, to find Congressional testimony by key industry players. This only searches U.S. Congressional hearings, not state government hearings.
Date Coverage: Varies by section.

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: !; Wildcard: *

FollowTheMoney.org
Tracks lobbyist contribution to state legislators. Interface is a bit clunky, but information is good.

Business Databases - Marketing Strategies and Consumption Trends

CABI Digital Library
Covers an array of scientific disciplines such as forestry, human health & nutrition, veterinary medicine, agricultural biotechnology economics and engineering, recreation, and leisure.
Includes access to CAB Archives.

Date Coverage: 1900-date

Maximum Users: 4

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

Help: http://www.cabdirect.org/help/index.html?from=homePage

Help: https://www.cabidigitallibrary.org/faq
Food Science and Technology Abstracts
Food Science and Technology Abstracts provides coverage of all scientific and technological aspects of the processing and manufacturing of human food products.
Free account can be created for personalization.
Date Coverage: 1969-date
Maximum Users: 1
Truncation:Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?
Search Guide: https://support.ebsco.com/help/FSTA