Skip to main content

National History Day Resources at University of Missouri Libraries: Resources for Teachers

Guide for educators and students participating in National History Day projects.

National History Day Resources

Integrating Special Collections into your course

Lesson Plans and Syllabi

Why Use Special Collections in Your Teaching?

At MU, the Department of Special Collections and Rare Books is a vibrant laboratory for the humanities, where students and faculty are welcome to research and explore.  Our collections exist to be used, and they are open to everyone.

As part of a class session in Special Collections, your students will have hands-on access to the most inspiring and intriguing materials the Libraries have to offer.  They will learn important primary research skills – the ability to track down sources, make connections among documents, and read the content of the page alongside physical evidence. Most importantly, they will discover an enthusiasm and engagement with their subject that will take their studies far beyond their textbooks.

Printable Handouts

It's helpful to make sure your students know where they're going and what to do before they get here.  These are some handouts you can print or email to your classes.

Activities and Document Analysis Worksheets

Request a Session

Use the form on our website to schedule an instruction session in Special Collections.

request a class session

Research Appointments

Research appointments are not required, but they are recommended due to the high volume of use in Special Collections during the academic year.

Contact Us

Ask a Question

Request a Class Session

Phone: (573) 882-0076

Fax: (573) 884-0027

Email: SpecialCollections@missouri.edu