Journal Articles and Images - HIST 2950 - The Global Cold War - Library Guides at University of Missouri Libraries

Search Strategies

Discover@MU
The Advanced search interface of Discover@MU searches for both books and articles and is sometimes able to search the full text of books. Add focus to your results by manipulating the dropdowns to specify that certain words be found in the Title.

Strategy I: Needle in a Haystack

Strategy II: Focus on an Idea, Add a Place (or other concept)

You can expand this search by removing the Title field specification from the first line, and adding it to the second, after you have examined the smaller set of sources this search produces.

Additiional Library Databases for Journal Articles and Images

Scopus
Database with abstracts and citations of research literature and quality web sources, including journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, abstracts, and patent records. A multidisciplinary resource covering materials from the humanities, sciences and social sciences. Also indexes EMBASE and allows you to locate the most highly cited items and the articles that cite them.
Date Coverage: 1970-present; selected access back to 1823

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

Search Guide: http://help.scopus.com

Tutorial: http://help.scopus.com/robo/projects/schelp/tutorials/sc_menu.htmlInteractive Tutorials

Auto Alerts: http://library.missouri.edu/search/databases/alertslist.htm#scopus
ARTStor
A digital library of images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images.
Partial funding was provided by the Student Fee Capital Improvement Committee.

Date Coverage: Varies

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: _

User's Guide: http://www.artstor.org/using-artstor/u-html/key-features.shtml
Gale Virtual Reference Library
A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Can be linked to Google or Microsoft account to quickly save entries.
Date Coverage: Varies
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Truncation: *; Wildcard:?

HIST 2950 - The Global Cold War: Journal Articles and Images

Search Strategies

Additiional Library Databases for Journal Articles and Images