Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use these books to find information about persuasive communication
Books - Persuasion
7 Secrets of Persuasion by 7 Secrets of Persuasion is the first book to take the latest scientific insights about the mind and apply them to the art of persuasion. It directly translates the revolution in neuroscience that has occurred over the last 40 years into practical new techniques for effective persuasion. Whether your goal is to persuade one person--a husband, child, or boss--or the millions who might purchase an Apple Watch or a Budweiser, 7 Secrets of Persuasion will show you how to: Unearth the motivation that actually changes a behavior like smoking, voting, or buying, even though people don't know why they do what they do. Tap into the mental process that gives religious symbols, political symbols, and commercial logos their power. Make a promise that is delayed, uncertain, and rational more compelling by making it immediate, certain, and emotional. Transform your candidate, service, or product into the one people want by utilizing what psychologists call the "fundamental attribution error."
Call Number: Online (unlimited user access)
Publication Date: 2016-09-19
The Dynamics of Persuasion by The Dynamics of Persuasion has been a staple resource for teaching persuasion for nearly two decades. Author Richard M. Perloff speaks to students in a style that is engaging and informational, explaining key theories and research as well as providing timely and relevant examples. The companion website includes materials for both students and instructors and expanding the pedagogical utilities. The sixth edition includes: updated theoretical and applied research in a variety of areas, including framing, inoculation, and self-affirmation; new studies of health campaigns; expanded coverage of social media marketing; enhanced discussion of the Elaboration Likelihood Model in light of continued research and new applications to everyday persuasion. The fundamentals of the book - emphasis on theory, clear-cut explanation of findings, in-depth discussion of persuasion processes and effects, and easy-to-follow real-world applications - continue in the sixth edition.
Call Number: BF637.P4 P39 2017 MU Journalism Library
Publication Date: 2017-01-09
The Dynamics of Persuasion by Now in its seventh edition, this essential text continues to provide students with a comprehensive yet accessible overview of the study and practice of persuasive communication. Attuned to the swift changes in the world of persuasion in the twenty-first century, this book covers how theories and research illuminate and adapt to our present digital era, with continued attention to ethical implications and today's big topics. This new edition features updated definitions of key terms in the field as they relate to present-day practice; an integration of persuasion theories and the ubiquity of online influence; new examples and cases to illustrate persuasive communication's approach to health campaigns, attitudes, communicator appeals, dissonance, and ethics; and a thorough reflection of the most current scholarship in the field. The Dynamics of Persuasion, Seventh Edition provides a solid foundation for undergraduate students in communication studies and psychology to grasp the key concepts and practices of persuasive communication today. The book is complimented by online resources for both instructors and students, including an instructor's manual, lecture slides, sample test questions, and links to relevant articles and videos illustrating concepts presented in the text. Please visit www.routledge.com/cw/perloff.
Call Number: MU Journalism Library Reserve
Publication Date: 2020-07-17
Persuasion by Persuasion: Theory and Research, Third Edition is a comprehensive overview of social-scientific theory and research on persuasion. Written in a clear and accessible style that assumes no special technical background in research methods, the Third Edition has been thoroughly revised to reflect developments in persuasion studies. New discussions of subjects such as reactance and the use of narratives as vehicles for persuasion, revised treatments of the theories of reasoned action and planned behavior, and two new chapters on social judgment theory and stage models provide your students with the most current work on persuasion in a clear, straightforward manner. In this edition, author Daniel J. O'Keefe has given special attention to the importance of adapting (tailoring) messages to audiences to maximize persuasiveness. Each chapter has a set of review questions to guide students through the chapter's material and quickly master the concepts being introduced.
Call Number: BF637.P4 O54 2016 MU Journalism Library
Publication Date: 2015-03-19
The Persuasion Code by The Persuasion Code Capture, convince, and close--scientifically Most of your attempts to persuade are doomed to fail because the brains of your audience automatically reject messages that disrupt their attention. This book makes the complex science of persuasion simple. Learn to develop better marketing and sales messages based on a scientific model; NeuroMap(tm). Regardless of your level of expertise in marketing, neuromarketing, neuroscience or psychology: The Persuasion Code: How Neuromarketing Can Help You Persuade Anyone, Anywhere, Anytime will make your personal and business lives more successful by unveiling a credible and practical approach towards creating a breakthrough persuasion strategy. This book will satisfy your interest in neuromarketing, scientific persuasion, sales, advertising effectiveness, website conversion, marketing strategy and sales presentations. It'll teach you the value of the award-winning persuasion model NeuroMapTM : the only model based on the science of how your customers use their brain to make any decision including a buying decision. You will appreciate why this scientific approach has helped hundreds of companies and thousands of executives achieve remarkable results. Written by the founders of SalesBrain who pioneered the field of neuromarketing SalesBrain has trained more than 100,000 executives worldwide including over 15,000 CEO Includes guidance for creating your own neuromarketing plan Advance your business or career by creating persuasive messages based on the working principle of the brain.
Call Number: Online (unlimited user access)
Publication Date: 2018-09-19
Persuasion Ethics Today by Persuasion Ethics Today explores persuasive communication in the fields of advertising, promotions, public relations and integrated marketing communication, and is designed for course use in advertising curricula. Ethical questions have become increasingly important in today's media landscape, and issues of regulation, privacy, and convenience are the subjects of heated debate among consumers, industry professional, policy makers, and interest groups. With the explosion of social media, mobile devices, tracking technologies, and behavioral targeting, the ethical issues about persuasion continue to increase in importance. This book's goal is to offer a broad introduction to the ethical standards, challenges, understanding, and decision-making strategies involved in the practice of persuasion. Persuasion Ethics Today links real world persuasive communication activities to fundamental philosophies of ethics. It also offers tools for students and practitioners to engage with ethical dilemmas in a systematic way, and jumpstart debates about the right ethical choices in an increasingly complex media and social environment.
Call Number: HF5381 .P44 2015 MU Journalism Library Novak Collection
Publication Date: 2015-12-21
Persuasive Copywriting by Enhance your copywriting skills with psychology-driven techniques to create stand out copy that taps into consumer decision making and sells, using this second edition of the ultimate copywriting survival guide for the 21st century - essential to every marketing or creative professional's bookshelf. With many professionals now developing their skills on the job, it is notoriously difficult to benchmark successful copy. This book provides a step up for those who already know the basics of writing copy, and are seeking more advanced, psychology-driven techniques to gain the competitive edge. With practical insight into human decision making and consumer engagement, it will inspire the clear-cut confidence needed to create, quantify, and sell stand out copy in a cluttered marketplace. Complementing the 'how to' perspective of copywriting, with impressive interviews from leading ad agencies and copywriters across the globe, this second edition addresses the everyday issues faced in a multitude of roles, including: -Practical advice to measure and benchmark effective copy -Guidance on creating and critiquing briefs -New chapters on how to weave copywriting skills into the wider industry -Storytelling and content marketing -The impact of evolving channels like mobile and social media Practical, inspiring and extremely digestible, Persuasive Copywriting is the only vibrant, all-encompassing guide to copywriting that you need.
Call Number: HF5825 .M325 2019 MU Journalism Library
Publication Date: 2019-01-28
Pre-Suasion by *NEW YORK TIMES and WALL STREET JOURNAL BESTSELLER *Financial Times Best Business Books of 2016 *Inc.com's Best Sales and Marketing Book of 2016 The author of the legendary bestseller Influence, social psychologist Robert Cialdini shines a light on effective persuasion and reveals that the secret doesn't lie in the message itself, but in the key moment before that message is delivered. What separates effective communicators from truly successful persuaders? Using the same combination of rigorous scientific research and accessibility that made his Influence an iconic bestseller, Robert Cialdini explains how to capitalize on the essential window of time before you deliver an important message. This "privileged moment for change" prepares people to be receptive to a message before they experience it. Optimal persuasion is achieved only through optimal pre-suasion. In other words, to change "minds" a pre-suader must also change "states of mind." His first solo work in over thirty years, Cialdini's Pre-Suasion draws on his extensive experience as the most cited social psychologist of our time and explains the techniques a person should implement to become a master persuader. Altering a listener's attitudes, beliefs, or experiences isn't necessary, says Cialdini--all that's required is for a communicator to redirect the audience's focus of attention before a relevant action. From studies on advertising imagery to treating opiate addiction, from the annual letters of Berkshire Hathaway to the annals of history, Cialdini draws on an array of studies and narratives to outline the specific techniques you can use on online marketing campaigns and even effective wartime propaganda. He illustrates how the artful diversion of attention leads to successful pre-suasion and gets your targeted audience primed and ready to say, "Yes."
Call Number: BF774 .C56 2016 MU Journalism Library Novak Collection
Publication Date: 2016-09-06
Secret Sauce by The new rules for persuasive messaging. When it comes to messaging, what worked in the past won't work today. Our noisy, digital world has undermined our ability to focus. For a message to grab attention and persuade, it now has to pass the SAUCE test and be: Simple, Appealing, Unexpected, Credible, and Emotional. Secret Sauce shows you how to transform unconvincing messages into compelling copy. It comes with a 15-question SAUCE test and a Heat Gauge which allows you to precisely measure the persuasive impact of your messages. Short, easy to read, and packed with visuals, Secret Sauce provides: Clear examples of what works and what doesn't * Fascinating insights from behavioral and neurological research * Powerful lessons from successful and failed campaigns Less than 10 percent of marketing messages are truly compelling-engaging the head and heart. Secret Sauce helps you weed out the clutter and craft messages that stick.
Call Number: Online (unlimited user access)
Publication Date: 2017-02-21
Social Media for Strategic Communication by "At last, a book that covers social media strategy in a practical, timely way that will help guide our students as they transition to the professional world." --Gina Baleria, San Francisco State University Social Media for Strategic Communication: Creative Strategies and Research-Based Applications teaches students the skills and principles needed to use social media in persuasive communication campaigns. The book combines cutting-edge research with practical, on-the-ground instruction to prepare students for the real-world challenges they'll face in the workplace. The text addresses the influence of social media technologies, strategies, actions, and the strategic mindset needed by social media professionals today. By focusing on strategic thinking and awareness, it gives students the tools they need to adapt what they learn to new platforms and technologies that may emerge in the future. A broad focus on strategic communication--from PR, advertising, and marketing, to non-profit advocacy--gives students a broad base of knowledge that will serve them wherever their careers may lead. Visit the author's blog at http://karenfreberg.com/blog/ to get tips for teaching the course, industry related news, & more! The free, open-access Student Study site at study.sagepub.com/freberg features carefully selected video links, flashcards, social media accounts to follow, and more! Instructors, sign in at study.sagepub.com/freberg for additional resources!
Call Number: HM742 .F739 2019 Journalism Library
Publication Date: 2018-08-16
Books - Audience
Killer Visual Strategies by Discover the foundation, power, and necessity of visual communication with this essential guide Visual communication has changed. It's gone from being an optional medium for relaying information to an important method for building connections and increasing understanding. We now use visual storytelling to help us establish and strengthen relationships, engage distracted audiences, and bring clarity to complexity. Killer Visual Strategies examines how visual communication has transformed how brands connect with their customers and colleagues alike. It looks at the growing audience demand for quality visual content and how organizations must meet this demand or risk being left behind. Killer Visual Strategies traces the history of visual communication and explores why it now plays an integral role in our daily lives. As Amy Balliett tells the story of this evolving medium, she naturally incorporates visuals, such as timelines and data visualizations throughout. In addition to providing actionable rules to follow for creating high-impact visual content, Balliett also explores the latest trends, including visual search, augmented reality (AR), and virtual reality (VR). Then, she looks forward to what lies ahead in this dynamic field. The book's topics can benefit readers in a range of professions where visual content is now vital to sharing a message. Learn best practices for visual communication Gain inspiration from countless visual examples Stay on top of the latest trends in visual communication Understand visual communication for marketing, sales, design, HR, and more Killer Visual Strategies provides a clearer picture of the evolution of visual communication as a fundamental part of how a story is told.
Call Number: Online (unlimited user access)
Publication Date: 2020-06-30
Introduction to Strategic Public Relations by Recognizing that developments in technology, business, and culture require a fresh approach, Janis T. Page and Lawrence Parnell have written a practical introductory text that aligns these shifts with the body of knowledge from which the discipline of public relations was built.
Call Number: HM1221 .P34 2019 MU Journalim Library
Publication Date: 2018-01-17
Books - Vaccination Barriers
Let's Talk Vaccines by Engaging, accessible, and filled with practical communication advice, Let's Talk Vaccines helps you educate patients on the importance of life-saving vaccines using a patient-centered and empathetic approach. Covering everything from the science of vaccine safety to the psychology of risk communication, this essential guide includes real-life examples and thoughtful, evidence-based techniques that will help patients understand vaccines and make informed decisions. Ideal for primary care providers, pediatricians, family physicians, nurse practitioners, and public health advocates, it provides an excellent framework for how to approach difficult discussions, with the goal of improving the health of each patient as well as the community at large. Directly addresses the increasing trend of parents choosing not to vaccinate their children, including the history and psychology of the anti-vaccine movement. Examines the issues underlying vaccine hesitancy, answering the common questions and concerns that vaccine-hesitant patients may raise during office visits. Helps you dispel myths and fears that many patients have, with particular attention paid to misinformation and skepticism on social media. Covers the anti-vaccine movement's assertions about autism, autoimmune illnesses and allergies, toxic ingredients, overwhelming the immune system, conspiracies, and more - bringing you up to date with the most common issues and effective approaches to the vaccine discussion. Provides practical tips on approaching the vaccine-hesitant parent and how anti-vaccine patients change their minds, with a focus on remaining a positive partner in your patients' care and finding greater success in your vaccination efforts. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Call Number: online (3 simultaneous user access)
Publication Date: 2019-10-12
Stuck by Vaccine reluctance and refusal are no longer limited to the margins of society. Debates around vaccines' necessity -- along with questions around their side effects -- have gone mainstream, blending with geopolitical conflicts, political campaigns, celebrity causes, and "natural" lifestyles to win a growing number of hearts and minds. Today's anti-vaccine positions find audiences where they've never existed previously. Stuck examines how the issues surrounding vaccine hesitancy are, more than anything, about people feeling left out of the conversation. A new dialogue is long overdue, one that addresses the many types of vaccine hesitancy and the social factors that perpetuate them. To do this, Stuck provides a clear-eyed examination of the social vectors that transmit vaccine rumors, their manifestations around the globe, and how these individual threads are all connected.
Call Number: online (3 simultaneous user access)
Publication Date: 2020-07-16
Books - Health Communication
Effective Communication for Health Professionals by
Call Number: R118 .E34 2020 MU Journalism Library
Publication Date: 2019-11-09
Ethics and Practice in Science Communication by From climate to vaccination, stem-cell research to evolution, scientific work is often the subject of public controversies in which scientists and science communicators find themselves enmeshed. Especially with such hot-button topics, science communication plays vital roles. Gathering together the work of a multidisciplinary, international collection of scholars, the editors of Ethics and Practice in Science Communication present an enlightening dialogue involving these communities, one that articulates the often differing objectives and ethical responsibilities communicators face in bringing a range of scientific knowledge to the wider world. In three sections--how ethics matters, professional practice, and case studies--contributors to this volume explore the many complex questions surrounding the communication of scientific results to nonscientists. Has the science been shared clearly and accurately? Have questions of risk, uncertainty, and appropriate representation been adequately addressed? And, most fundamentally, what is the purpose of communicating science to the public: Is it to inform and empower? Or to persuade--to influence behavior and policy? By inspiring scientists and science communicators alike to think more deeply about their work, this book reaffirms that the integrity of the communication of science is vital to a healthy relationship between science and society today.
Call Number: Q223 .E74 2018 Ellis Library
Publication Date: 2018-03-07
Health Communication Strategies and Skills for a New Era by Designed for undergraduate instruction across a range of majors or concentrations in health science, health education, public health, and health administration, as well as clinical health disciplines including nursing, allied health, and health professions, this new first edition will introduce your students to the basics of health communication. Health Communication: Strategies and Skills for a New Era provides a practical process model for developing a health communication intervention. The book also explores exposure to media and how it shapes our conceptions of health and illness. Using a community-based health communication approach, the book covers a broad base of information from communication and health behavior theory, community-based program planning, and social marketing constructs to provide students with the keys to develop effective and culturally appropriate health communication. Key Features:- Explores media representations and consumption of health information and audiences defined by demographic and cultural factors- Offers examples and features that are geared to smaller scale projects, (e.g., school based, community based, and health center based projects)- Presents current, practical methods for the use of digital and interactive media in health communication interventions- Includes coverage of health disparities, women's health, and health literacy- Covers worksite health, school health, and healthcare--representing key industries where health communication skills are in demand
Call Number: online (1-user at a time)
Publication Date: 2018-09-10