Janice Dysart
Research & Instructional Services Librarian
169 Ellis Library
573-882-1828
Database with abstracts and citations of research literature and quality web sources, including journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, abstracts, and patent records. A multidisciplinary resource covering materials from the humanities, sciences and social sciences. Also indexes EMBASE and allows you to locate the most highly cited items and the articles that cite them.
The National Library of Medicine's free article search engine, containing article references from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, plus publisher-supplied and out-of-scope citations from science and chemistry journals.
Web of Science indexes thousands of scholarly journals, books, reports, conferences and more. Citation information and analysis with cited reference searching available. The collection includes Science Citation Index Expanded (1990-present), Social Sciences Citation Index Expanded (1990-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1990-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present) and Index Chemicus (1993-present).
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Contains journals, reports, books, meetings, and U.S. patents in all disciplines of the life sciences, including traditional areas of biology, such as botany, zoology, and microbiology, as well as related fields such as plant and animal science, agriculture, pharmacology, and ecology.
Provides citations and some abstracts on all aspects of ichthyology, fisheries, and related aspects of aquaculture.
Provides access to worldwide zoological literature, including all major areas of the field: behavior, ecology, evolution, habitat, nutrition, parasitology, reproduction, taxonomy, and zoogeography.
Provides full-text access to thousands of online books covering technology, digital media, business, health, travel, personal and professional development and many other areas. Also includes learning tutorials and videos.
Definition: A measure of the frequency with which the "average article" in a journal has been cited in a particular year or period. Clarivate Analytics
Calculation for a journal's 2017 journal impact factor:
Available from:
Caveat: Only journals that meet Clarivate Analytics' standards for inclusion in the Web of Science Core Collection are assigned impact factors. Web of Science Master Journal List
Ongoing Debate: Currently impact factors are the most widely known way to rank journals, however, they are controversial. Some people believe that impact factors do not accurately reflect the impact of a journal or article.
(Hate journal impact factors? New study gives you one more reason, Science July 6, 2016)
How to Publish in Biological Sciences
This book is a guide specifically for Early Career Researchers on how to publish in the Biological Sciences, whether that be your first manuscript or if you're already experienced - there's something for everyone. Following on from How to Write a PhD in Biological Sciences: A Guide for the Uninitiated, it will guide you through taking your manuscript to publication in peer-reviewed journals and disseminating your research more broadly. It talks you through the peer-review process, including how to respond to reviewers' comments, the meaning and importance of Impact Factors and how to get citations. It also explores the challenges in the academic community around Open Access and other debates, including transparency, overlay journals, paywalls, publication bias, predatory journals and the dangers of bullying. Whether you are a student just completing your studies, or a supervisor struggling with rejections, this book will provide the insider information you need to get ahead.
How to Write a PhD in Biological Sciences
You don't have to be a genius to write a PhD. Of course, it will always involve a lot of hard work and dedication, but the process of writing is a whole lot easier if you understand the basic ground rules. This book is a guide through the dos and don'ts of writing a PhD. It will be your companion from the point when you decide to do a PhD, providing practical guidance to getting started, all the way through the nuts and bolts of the writing and editing process. It will also help you to get - and stay - in the right mental framework and establish good habits from the beginning, putting you in a commanding position later on. Examples are tailored to the biological sciences, offering a unique reference for PhD students in these disciplines. Embarking on a PhD doesn't need to be daunting, even if it's your first experience working within academia. Each short section focuses on writing - considered by many to be the most difficult aspect of a PhD - and delves into a practical detail of one aspect, from the title to the supplementary material. Whether you're a student just starting your studies, an early career researcher or a supervisor struggling to cope, the book provides the insider information you need to get ahead.
A comprehensive reference covering the life histories of birds from around the world. Includes family and species accounts, illustrations, and audio/video recordings.
