Library Guides: Atmospheric Science: Guide for Graduate Students: Finding...

Articles

Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Collection
Indexes materials covering a wide variety of subject areas including aquaculture, astrophysics, conservation, fish & fisheries, geology, limnology, meteorology, oceanography, paleontology, seismology and weather. Includes: Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts, the Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database and the Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts.
Date Coverage: 1968-date

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

Auto Alerts: https://libraryguides.missouri.edu/c.php?g=27933&p=175454
Scopus
Search over 21,500 peer reviewed journals 1970 to date
Find out who's citing particular articles
Date Coverage: 1970-present; selected access back to 1823

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

Search Guide: http://help.scopus.com

Tutorial: https://supporthub.scopus.com

Auto Alerts: http://library.missouri.edu/search/databases/alertslist.htm#scopus
Google Scholar
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Please see Google Scholar & Findit@MU for instructions on adding Findit@MU links to your Google Scholar page.
Date Coverage: NA
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Not supported
Web of Science Core Collection
Web of Science indexes thousands of scholarly journals, books, reports, conferences and more. Citation information and analysis with cited reference searching available. The collection includes Science Citation Index Expanded (1990-present), Social Sciences Citation Index Expanded (1990-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1990-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present) and Index Chemicus (1993-present).
Date Coverage: Varies by Web of Science collection
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: *
arXiv
An open archive for scholarly articles in many areas of science including physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, etc.
Open Access.
Engineering Village
Multidisciplinary applied engineering, mathematical, and physical and materials science databases. Cross searches Compendex (engineering), Knovel (STEM ebooks), and Georef (geology, geography, physical sciences).
Free account can be created for personalization.
Date Coverage: 1970-date
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Truncation: * Wildcard: ?
User's Guide: http://ei.org/Support_Training
IEEE Xplore
Access to IET/IEE (Institution of Engineering and Technology) Journals and IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) transactions, journals, magazines, and conference proceedings and all current IEEE standards.
Free account can be created for personalization.
Date Coverage: 1988-date
Maximum Users: 20
Truncation: Truncation: * Wildcard: ?

Books

O'Reilly
Provides full-text access to thousands of online books covering technology, digital media, business, health, travel, personal and professional development and many other areas. Also includes learning tutorials and videos.
Date Coverage Varies

Maximum Users Unlimited

Ebooks@MU

Search Book Content

Google Books
Google Books contains the full text of books and magazines provided by libraries and publishers. Materials that are out of copyright (generally pre-1925) can be viewed online. For more recent books, Google Book Search functions as a detailed index. Books identified may be available at MU, via MOBIUS, or may be requested through ILL@MU. [more]
Hathi Trust
The Hathi Trust Digital Library contains digital copies of more than 10 million volumes in over 400 languages, printed from 1500-present. Over 3 million volumes are in the public domain and can be viewed/printed/downloaded. Other volumes can be searched, but viewing is restricted. The Digital Library combines full-text searching with the traditional library catalog to facilitate sophisticated queries and easy browsing. MU users can also build private or shared collections within the Digital Library. [more]

Dissertations

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
Comprehensive curated collection of multi-disciplinary dissertations and theses from around the world, offering over 5 million citations and 3 million full-text works from thousands of universities. Access provided by the University of Missouri Graduate School.

Libraries Guide to Dissertations and Theses

Climatological Data

Climate Data Online
Provides access to the National Climate Data Center's archive of global historical weather and climate data in addition to station history information.
NCDC: National Climatic Data Center
Large archive of U.S. and world climatological data. Includes local climatological data. The University of Missouri-Columbia is considered an authorized user of this site so if you are affiliated with UMC, you can access the items online which have the notation "Free access by certain agencies and individuals (limited access only)".
Weather Underground
Good resource for accessing global climatological data
Missouri Historical Agricultural Weather Database
Archival network of daily and hourly weather reports from 21 Missouri weather stations. Coverage is 2000 to date.
Storm Events
National Climatic Data Center database of U.S. storm events. Searchable by state and then by date and event. Coverage is 1993 to date for all weather events. Data on tornadoes, thunderstorm winds and hails goes back to the 1950's.
World Climate
A worldwide range of public domain climate data. Searchable by city name.
GHCN Global Daily
Contains daily precipitation, snow, and temperature data collected from over 43,000 stations worldwide, 1833-2008.
NOAA Storm Events
National Climatic Data Center database of U.S. storm events. Searchable by state and then by date and event. Coverage is 1993 to date for all weather events. Data on tornadoes, thunderstorm winds and hails goes back to the 1950's.
NOAA Climatological Data Publications
Provides highs, lows and precipitation for many U.S. cities and towns from late 1800's to date.
Climatological Data (NOAA)
Print publication which covers the United States state by state, month by month with annual summaries.
Ellis Library QC 983 .A52 (1966 to date)
UM Depository 551.5 Un31c (1914-1965)
Monthly Climatic Data for the World (NOAA)

Additional weather resources

National Center for Atmospheric Research: RAP Real-Time Weather Data
Four types of real-time weather data: satellite, radar, surface, and upper-air.
NOAA:National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
National Weather Service local and regional forecasts.
Missouri weather information sources
Compiled by Pat Guinan, University of Missouri Extension
World Weather Information Service
Official weather observations, weather forecasts and climatological information for selected cities supplied by National Meteorological & Hydrological Services (NMHSs) worldwide.
NOAA Climate
US government source of timely and authoritative scientific data and information about climate
NOAA Climate Data Online
Provides access to the National Climate Data Center's archive of global historical weather and climate data in addition to station history information.
International Cloud Atlas (World Meteorological Organization)
Describes the classification system for clouds.
Handbook of Drought Indicators and Indices
River Information Resources for Missouri
Compiled by Pat Guinan, University of Missouri Extension

Journal impact factors & rankings

Find journal impact factors and rankings within discipline by impact factors

Journal Citation Reports
Source of journal impact factors and subject category rankings for journals indexed in the Web of Science database.
Free account can be created for personalization.
Date Coverage: 1997- date
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Tutorials: http://jcr.help.clarivate.com.proxy.mul.missouri.edu/Content/training-videos.htm
User Guide http://clarivate.libguides.com/home

Other journal rankings

Journal acceptance rates

Finding journal acceptance rates

Atmospheric Science: Guide for Graduate Students

Subject librarian

Articles

Books

Search Book Content

Dissertations

Climatological Data

Additional weather resources

Journal impact factors & rankings

Journal acceptance rates