Library Guides: How to Find Articles : Find Newspaper &amp; Magazine Articles

Find newspaper or magazine articles

Use the Discover@MU search engine on the library's homepage to search for articles.
- Search by keyword, title or author.
- On the results page, use the checkbox in the left-hand column to narrow the scope to only News or Magazines.
Discover@MU only searches a few newspapers. Access additional news publications by searching specific newspaper databases. Below are a few of the more popular newspaper databases some of which also include magazines.

Factiva
Provides access to newspapers, journals, magazines, television and radio transcripts, photos, etc. from nearly every country worldwide in 28 languages. It also contains business and financial data on companies from around the world. Note: Off-campus users must use the VPN for access.
Also includes continuously updated newswires.
Date Coverage: Varies
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation:Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

License terms restrict access to MU students, faculty, and staff only.

User's Guide: http://proquest.libguides.com/factiva
US Newsstream
Contains newspapers, trade journals, general interest periodicals, blogs, podcasts, and websites. With titles like the Wall Street Journal, New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post and the Boston Globe. Users can also access international, national, and regional news.
Newspaper Source
Provides cover-to-cover full text for national (U.S.) and international newspapers and contains full text for a selection of regional (U.S.) newspapers along with full-text television and radio news transcripts. Access provided by MOREnet.
Date Coverage Varies
Maximum Users Unlimited
Truncation
Truncation: * Wildcard: ?
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Searchable full-image of the Chicago Defender (1909-2010), Chicago Tribune (1849-1999), Los Angeles Times (1881-2000), St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1874-2003), New York Times (1851-2020), Wall Street Journal (1889-2012) and the Washington Post (1877-2007).