Library Guides: Where to Publish Your Research: Find journals in your research area

Find journals in your research area

Ask your colleagues

Ask your subject librarian

Look at journal rankings by discipline

Journal Citation Reports
Look up subject categories to find journals ranked by impact factors. Journals in the social sciences and science only. Humanity journals do not have impact factors.
Free account can be created for personalization.
Date Coverage: 1997- date
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Tutorials: http://jcr.help.clarivate.com.proxy.mul.missouri.edu/Content/training-videos.htm
User Guide http://clarivate.libguides.com/home

SCIMago Journal Ranking
27 major thematic areas and over 300 specific subject categories. Developed from information contained in the Scopus database.

Search by keyword

Search either of the following two databases using keywords that relate to your research area and then select Source Titles in the Refine Results column on the left side of the results display.

Scopus Database with abstracts and citations of research literature and quality web sources, including journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, abstracts, and patent records. A multidisciplinary resource covering materials from the humanities, sciences and social sciences. Also indexes EMBASE and allows you to locate the most highly cited items and the articles that cite them.
Date Coverage: 1970-present; selected access back to 1823

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

Search Guide: http://help.scopus.com

Tutorial: https://supporthub.scopus.com

Auto Alerts: http://library.missouri.edu/search/databases/alertslist.htm#scopus
Web of Science Core Collection Web of Science indexes thousands of scholarly journals, books, reports, conferences and more. Citation information and analysis with cited reference searching available. The collection includes Science Citation Index Expanded (1990-present), Social Sciences Citation Index Expanded (1990-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1990-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present) and Index Chemicus (1993-present).
Date Coverage: Varies by Web of Science collection
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: *

Search by discipline

MLA Directory of Periodicals
Directory of over 3,700 periodicals in literature, language, linguistics, folklore. Searchable by keyword and subject to see what journals cover a particular area.
Free account can be created for personalization.
Date Coverage: Current
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

Academic Journal Guide
Chartered Association of Business Schools listing of business and management journals. Includes ratings. Must register to view guide.

Analyze article text to find related journals
Copy and paste article title and/or abstract into search box to find appropriate journals.

Web of Science Manuscript Matcher
Find the most relevant journals to your research based on data in Web of Science. Requires the creation of a free account.
Open Access Journal Finder
Input research abstract and OAJF uses search algorithm to determine relevant journals indexed by the DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals).
JANE: Journal/Author Name Estimator
Biomedical journals
Note: JANE relies on the data in PubMed, which can contain papers from predatory journals, and therefore these journals can appear in JANE's results. To help identify high-quality journals, JANE now tags journals that are currently indexed in MEDLINE, and open access journals approved by the Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ).
JSTOR Labs Text Analyzer
Upload your document. Results list related articles from JSTOR journals.
Edanz Journal Selector
Search results limited to Springer, AIP (American Institute of Physics) and BioMed Central journals.
Elsevier Journal Finder
IEEE Publication Recommender
Springer Nature Journal Suggestor
Taylor & Francis Journal Suggestor
Pubmed PubReMiner
Biomedical journals

Where to Publish Your Research

About this guide

Find journals in your research area