Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Student Advocacy Groups: ULSAC and Library Ambassadors: 2022 Representatives

Your Libraries, Your Voices: Play a role in shaping the future of the University of Missouri Libraries

Meet the Reps!

The 2021-2022 representatives and library ambassadors have a common goal of advocating for improvements in the university libraries. These representatives are voices for different organizations across campus, and each representative has highlighted an area of library advancement that is important to them and their organization:

Lane Cargile (Chair)

Hello, my name is Lane Cargile, and I am the Chairman of the University Library Student Advisory Council (ULSAC). I am invested in improving the accessibility of the libraries both in the context of physical way finding and inclusivity.

Jara Anderson (Vice Chair)

Hello Tigers! My name is Jara Anderson, and I am the Vice Chair of the University Library Student Advisory Council (ULSAC). As a graduate student in Library Sciences, I am passionate about making the university libraries more accessible for students and getting better climate control storage for the Special Collections department.

Jenny Gutierrez (MISC)

My name is Jenny Gutierrez. I am a grad student from the College of Engineering and a representative for Missouri International Student Council (MISC). I would like to explore and promote study places at the libraries. Also, I want to advocate all the library resources available that can certainly make our student life much easier.

Caleb Sewell (Legion of Black Collegians)

My name is Caleb Sewell, I am the current Vice President for the Legion of Black Collegians. We’d like to see more inclusive diversity in libraries and to make sure our constituents are given the ability to have access in regards to affordability.

Cameron Furbeck (Panhellenic Association)

I’m Cameron Furbeck, I’m a representative of the Mizzou Panhellenic Association. I would like to see a focus on structural accessibility for disabled students, as well as a concentration on collections and programming about individuals within marginalized groups.

Edgar Soto-Moreno (Latinx Graduate Professional Network)

My name is Edgar Soto-Moreno, I am a graduate student and representative of LGPN.  We would like to see more hispanic/latin@ inclusive diversity in libraries.  I would like to see collections that represent our history and our input to science, arts, and sociology.

John Fortner (Graduate Professional Council)

I'm John Fortner - representing Integrative Anatomy. I'd like to see more works by Indigenous (esp. First Nations/Native American) scientists and authors, esp. regarding North and South American indigenous language revitalization efforts.

Marie Bergman (Library Ambassador)

My name is Marie Bergman, and I represent Veterans on campus unofficially. I joined ULSAC because I wanted to learn more about issues local libraries are facing. Since I’m a disabled distance student, I would like to see more print abilities available from eBooks and a more diverse selection of LGBTQ+ material.

Adele Du (MISC)

Hi everyone! This is Adele Du from Missouri International Student Council (MISC). I utilize Ellis and other amazing libraries on campus quite frequently and I would love to help make the library resources and collections more accessible to the international community. 

Thom Molen (Interfraternity Council)

Hello Tigers! My name is Thom Molen and I'm the IFC President as well as an IFC Representative for ULSAC. I'm excited for the opportunity to help make the Library spaces on campus more accessible and useful for students. I personally use the Libraries to get a lot of my work done and I'm hoping to share the myriad of resources with the Mizzou community. MIZ!

Cooper Zimmerschied (Interfraternity Council)

Hello everyone my name is Cooper Zimmerschied and I am the IFC VP of Judicial Procedures! I am a frequent visitor to the Mizzou Library and would love to see more accessibility and promotion of the Libraries unique study spaces as well as students utilizing our university library books!

Jools Pulcher (MSA)


Shelby Johnson (PHA)