Plant Sciences

Botanicus is a freely accessible portal to historic botanical literature from the Missouri Botanical Garden Library.

The Missouri Botanical Garden's Flora of Missouri Project has been gathering information on the vascular plants growing outside of cultivation in the Show-Me State since 1987.

Find photographs and descriptions of the vascular plants of Missouri.

Information about plants grown at the Missouri Botanical Gardens.

Maintained by the USDA, the PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.

Searchable by state, county and zipcode. Provides local plant distributions and images of plants. Allows users to create plant lists of North American Plants, an online plant set for a location, an online plant list for attribute keying, and research distributions, attributes, and images. Works best in Firefox browser.

The most comprehensive database of native plants for North America, maintained by the Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center at the University of Texas-Austin.

Incorporates standards-based data-driven internet technologies to disseminate plant information, images and distribution maps to the public.

Compendium of the world’s plant species

POWO is an international collaborative project that aims to make available digitized data of the world’s flora gathered from the past 250 years of botanical exploration and research. Searchable by a plant's common, species, genus or family name and by descriptive words such as colors.

Database of plant descriptions across the world. Searchable by taxa.

The Tropicos database links over 1.33M scientific names with over 4.87M specimens and over 685K digital images (both modern and historical). The data includes over 150K references from over 52.6K publications offered as a free service to the world’s scientific community.

BIEN is a network of ecologists, botanists, and computer scientists working together to document global patterns of plant diversity, function and distribution. View georeferenced plant observations, plot inventories and surveys, species geographic distribution maps, plant traits, species-level phylogeny for all plants in the New World, and various species lists.

The Biodiversity works to digitalize natural history literature. It provides free access to hundreds of thousands of volumes, comprising over 58 million pages, from the 15th-21st centuries.

The American Phytopathological Society's Common Names of Plant Diseases lists have been prepared by authorities on the given plants and include approved common names, along with the associated pathogens or causes.

The authoritative source for accurate data on the worldwide distribution of plant diseases of economic or quarantine importance. Access to these maps is available through CABI Digital Library.

​Grow is an outreach service of The American Phytopathological Society. It is a nonprofit, freely available resource of science-based information on plant health.

Open access gateway to practical plant health information and services – from diagnostic and management advice to maps of pest locations and customized alerts on pest news.

Consortium of diagnostic labs in all US states and territories protecting national plant health. While most data isn't publicly accessible in NPDN's data repository, users can submit a Data Request Form.

Botany, chemistry, toxicology, diagnosis, and prevention of poisoning of animals by plants and other natural flora. Includes plant images and images of affected animals. Permits searches by common, scientific name and common poison. Allows users to search based on animal most commonly affected. From Cornell University.

From CABI, the Invasive Species Compendium includes information on taxonomy and nomenclature, distribution, habitat, identification, biology and ecology, species associations, pathways for introduction, impacts, and management of a wide range of invasive species (plants, animals, bacteria, etc.). Also includes maps and images.

Michigan State University's Turfgrass Information Center houses the most comprehensive publicly-available collection of turfgrass research and educational materials in the world. It maintains the Turfgrass Information File (TGIF), a database providing access to 250,000+ materials reporting on aspects of turfgrass and its maintenance.

Maintained by the International Carnivorous Plant Society, the database is a compendium of all published names for carnivorous plants.

Database about conifers and their allies.