Library Guides: Nutrition & exercise physiology--guide for graduate students: Finding...

Subject librarian

Janice Dysart
Research & Instructional Services Librarian
169 Ellis Library
573-882-1828

Book

Writing and Publishing Research in Kinesiology, Health, and Sport Science Drawing on real-world experience and presented in an informal and accessible manner, Writing and Publishing Research in Kinesiology, Health, and Sport Scienceprovides upper-level students and early-career academics with an essential resource to aid in disseminating research and publishing their first papers. Logically structured to take researchers through each step of the publishing process, the book offers subject-specific advice on developing every aspect of theoretical, applied, or position papers, including: * the title, abstract and keywords * method, results, and discussion sections * referencing * finding the right journal and submitting a paper * revising content in light of peer review * presenting papers. This is important and accessible reading for any researchers seeking advice on publishing their work in fields including but not limited to kinesiology, health, exercise science, physical education, or recreation.
ISBN: 9781138715929
Publication Date: 2017

Articles

PubMed
The National Library of Medicine's free article search engine, containing article references from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, plus publisher-supplied and out-of-scope citations from science and chemistry journals.

Instructions for adding FindIt@MU links and "Available at MU" filter to Pubmed
To run a cited reference search on an article found in PubMed, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here.

SPORTDiscus with Full Text
Full-text database covering sports and sports medicine journals. Subjects covered include biomechanics, drugs, exercise, kinesiology, movement science, nutrition, occupational health and therapy, physical fitness, physical therapy, rehabilitation, sports and exercise psychology, coaching and education and sports medicine.
Coverage: 1985-date
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Scopus
Search over 21,500 peer reviewed journals 1970 to date
Find out who's citing particular articles
Date Coverage: 1970-present; selected access back to 1823

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

Search Guide: http://help.scopus.com

Tutorial: http://help.scopus.com/robo/projects/schelp/tutorials/sc_menu.htmlInteractive Tutorials

Auto Alerts: http://library.missouri.edu/search/databases/alertslist.htm#scopus
CABDirect
Covers human journals articles for human nutrition back to 1900. Also covers plant & animal sciences.
Includes access to CAB Archives.

Date Coverage: 1900-date

Maximum Users: 4

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

Help: http://www.cabdirect.org/help/index.html?from=homePage
Web of Science Core Collection
Indexes thousands of scholarly journals, books, reports, conferences and more. Citation information and analysis with cited reference searching available. The collection includes Science Citation Index Expanded (1990-present), Social Sciences Citation Index Expanded (1990-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1990-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present) and Index Chemicus (1993-present).
Date Coverage: Varies by collection
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: *
SciFinder-n
Upgraded interface for Scifinder, a comprehensive database of chemical and chemical engineering literature including patents, chemical substances and reactions. SciFinder-N also includes MethodsNow (synthetic protocols), a predictive retrosynthesis planner, PatentPak patent mapping tool, and NMR spectra content. (1907 - date, with selected coverage back to 1878).
Requires registration using your MU email. (Note: Your Scifinder user name and password will work for Scifinder-n).
Registration: http://merlin.missouri.edu/sfs/scifinder_web.php

Date Coverage: 1907-date

Maximum Users: Unlimited

License Terms: http://merlin.missouri.edu/node/439

Search Guide: http://www.cas.org/support/scifi/htguides.html
Google Scholar
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Please see Google Scholar & Findit@MU for instructions on adding Findit@MU links to your Google Scholar page.
Date Coverage: NA
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Not supported

Books

O'Reilly
Provides full-text access to thousands of online books covering technology, digital media, business, health, travel, personal and professional development and many other areas. Also includes learning tutorials and videos.
Date Coverage Varies

Maximum Users Unlimited

Help: https://www.safaribooksonline.com/public/support/

Ebooks@MU

Search Book Content

Google Books
Google Books contains the full text of books and magazines provided by libraries and publishers. Materials that are out of copyright (generally pre-1925) can be viewed online. For more recent books, Google Book Search functions as a detailed index. Books identified may be available at MU, via MOBIUS, or may be requested through ILL@MU. [more]
HathiTrust
The Hathi Trust Digital Library contains digital copies of more than 10 million volumes in over 400 languages, printed from 1500-present. Over 3 million volumes are in the public domain and can be viewed/printed/downloaded. Other volumes can be searched, but viewing is restricted. The Digital Library combines full-text searching with the traditional library catalog to facilitate sophisticated queries and easy browsing. MU users can also build private or shared collections within the Digital Library. [more]

Dissertations

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
Comprehensive curated collection of multi-disciplinary dissertations and theses from around the world, offering over 5 million citations and 3 million full-text works from thousands of universities. Access provided by the University of Missouri Graduate School.

Libraries Guide to Dissertations and Theses

Journal impact factors, rankings & more

Find journal impact factors and rankings within discipline by impact factors

Journal Citation Reports
Source of impact factors and rankings for journals in the sciences and social sciences.
Free account can be created for personalization.
Date Coverage: 1997- date
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Tutorials: http://jcr.help.clarivate.com.proxy.mul.missouri.edu/Content/training-videos.htm
User Guide http://clarivate.libguides.com/home

Other journal rankings

Journal acceptance rates

Finding journal acceptance rates

Nutrition analysis

USDA National Nutrient Database for Standard Reference
USDA food composition database.
USDA Food and Nutrition Information Center
Provides credible, accurate, and practical resources for nutrition and health professionals, educators, government personnel and consumers.
Nutrition Analysis Tool 2.0
The NAT Tool analyzes your Personal Diet List to determine the percentages of the nutrients.
What We Eat in America
Source of data on food, beverages and nutrient intakes of Americans.

Nutritional supplements

Dietary Supplement Label Database
Provides full label derived information from dietary supplement products marketed in the U.S.
Pubmed Dietary Supplement Subset
Retrieve dietary supplement-related citations from PubMed.
Enviro-Health Links: Dietary Supplements
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services site for information about dietary supplements.

Market trends

Mintel
Includes market research reports for Europe, the UK, and the US. Reports cover a variety of sectors including consumer goods, travel and tourism, financial industry, internet industry, retail, and food & drink.
Reports discuss market drivers, market size & trends, market segmentation, supply structure, advertising and promotion, retail distribution, consumer characteristics, and market forecasts. Also included are management and company reports for companies mentioned in the reports.
Free account can be created for personalization.
Date Coverage: 2001-date
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Automatic

Nutrition & exercise physiology--guide for graduate students

Subject librarian

Book

Articles

Books

Search Book Content

Dissertations

Journal impact factors, rankings & more

Journal acceptance rates

Nutrition analysis

Nutritional supplements

Market trends

Statistics