Library Guides: Biochemistry: Guide for Graduate Students and Faculty: Finding...

Articles

Scopus
Search over 21,500 peer reviewed journals 1970 to date
Find out who's citing particular articles
Date Coverage: 1970-present; selected access back to 1823

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

Search Guide: http://help.scopus.com

Tutorial: https://supporthub.scopus.com
PubMed
Index to biomedical literature. Tips and Tricks for searching PubMed
CAS SciFinder
Search for chemistry and chemical engineering literature, patents, chemical substances and reactions. SciFinder also includes MethodsNow (synthetic protocols), a predictive retrosynthesis planner, PatentPak patent mapping tool, and NMR spectra content. (1907 - date, with selected coverage back to 1878).
Requires registration using your MU email.
Registration: http://merlin.missouri.edu/sfs/scifinder_web.php

Date Coverage: 1907-date

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Search Guide: https://cas-product-help.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/categories/10002745446029-FAQs-and-Quick-Reference-Guides

Instructions for adding FindIt@MU links and "Available at MU" filter to Pubmed
To run a cited reference search on an article found in PubMed, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here.

Web of Science Core Collection
Web of Science indexes thousands of scholarly journals, books, reports, conferences and more. Citation information and analysis with cited reference searching available. The collection includes Science Citation Index Expanded (1990-present), Social Sciences Citation Index Expanded (1990-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1990-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present) Index Chemicus (1993-present), and the Policy Citation Index (1950-present).
Date Coverage: Varies by Web of Science collection
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: *
Google Scholar
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Please see Google Scholar & Findit@MU for instructions on adding Findit@MU links to your Google Scholar page.
Date Coverage: NA
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Not supported
Dimensions
Search millions of publications, grants, citations, alternative metrics, clinical trials, patents, and policy documents all in one place. Analyze research outcomes and gather insights on research funding and collaborations to inform future strategy. Available to the MU campus with a missouri.edu or umsystem.edu email address. Access provided by the MU Division of Research, Innovation & Impact.
BIOSIS Citation Index
Contains journals, reports, books, meetings, and U.S. patents in all disciplines of the life sciences, including traditional areas of biology, such as botany, zoology, and microbiology, as well as related fields such as plant and animal science, agriculture, pharmacology, and ecology.
Date Coverage: 1969-2014
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: *

Books

O'Reilly
Provides full-text access to thousands of online books covering technology, digital media, business, health, travel, personal and professional development and many other areas. Also includes learning tutorials and videos.
Date Coverage Varies

Maximum Users Unlimited

Ebooks@MU

Search Book Content

Google Books
Google Books contains the full text of books and magazines provided by libraries and publishers. Materials that are out of copyright (generally pre-1925) can be viewed online. For more recent books, Google Book Search functions as a detailed index. Books identified may be available at MU, via MOBIUS, or may be requested through ILL@MU. [more]
HathiTrust
The Hathi Trust Digital Library contains digital copies of more than 10 million volumes in over 400 languages, printed from 1500-present. Over 3 million volumes are in the public domain and can be viewed/printed/downloaded. Other volumes can be searched, but viewing is restricted. The Digital Library combines full-text searching with the traditional library catalog to facilitate sophisticated queries and easy browsing. MU users can also build private or shared collections within the Digital Library. [more]

Dissertations

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
Comprehensive curated collection of multi-disciplinary dissertations and theses from around the world, offering over 5 million citations and 3 million full-text works from thousands of universities. Access provided by the University of Missouri Graduate School.

Libraries Guide to Dissertations and Theses

Journal impact factors, rankings & more

Find journal impact factors and rankings within discipline by impact factors

Journal Citation Reports
Source of journal impact factors and subject category rankings for journals indexed in the Web of Science database.
Free account can be created for personalization.
Date Coverage: 1997- date
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Tutorials: http://jcr.help.clarivate.com.proxy.mul.missouri.edu/Content/training-videos.htm
User Guide http://clarivate.libguides.com/home

Other journal rankings

Journal acceptance rates

Finding journal acceptance rates

e-resources for finding methods & protocols

Springer Nature Experiments
Database of reproducible laboratory protocols in the biomedical and life sciences. Offers researchers access to tested, trusted, step-by-step protocols for immediate use in the lab.
Date Coverage: 1980-2014
Maximum Users: Unlimited

Biological Procedures Online
Biology Methods and Protocols (Oxford)
Cold Spring Harbor Protocols
Current Protocols in Plant Biology
Methods and Protocols
Methods in Enzymology
Nature Methods
Nature Protocols
Organic Synthesis: A Publication of Reliable Methods for the Preparation of Organic Compounds
protocols.io
Formerly open access repository of science methods.now owned by Springer Nature.
Many of the protocols are open access.
Can search and view protocols without setting up a free account.

Open protocol repositories

Bio-protocols
Life sciences protocols

Additional resources

Brenda: the comprehensive enzyme system
Searchable database of enzyme information including nomenclature, enzyme-ligand interactions, functional parameters, organism related information, enzyme structure, molecular properties and bibliographies. Available free of charge for academic, non-profit users.
NCBI Databases Site Map
A starting point for searching gene sequences and molecular biology information found in GenBank/Entrez, RefSeq, OMIM, LocusLink, and more. Use the Entrez Cross-database Search Page to do a global search across all Entrez resources.
more...less...
Search Guide: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/Class/MLACourse/
EcoCyc
Curated database for the bacterium Escherichia coli K-12 MG1655. Includes transcriptional regulation, transporters and metabolic pathways.
MetaCyc
Curated database of experimentally elucidated metabolic pathways from all domains of life. MetaCyc contains 2453 pathways from 2788 different organisms.
PubChem
Locate information on structure and biological activity of over 800,000 small organic molecules. Search by substance, bioassay or compound. Information is imported from 14 public sources, including ChemID plus. Structure and similarity searching are also supported. From the National Center for Biotechnology Information, it includes links to other Pubmed Entrez databases.
more...less...
Search Guide: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/query.fcgi?db=pcsubstance