Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Brief Guide to Resources for Research: Try First: Resources for Research
 

Tips, techniques & links to help you find answers for your research papers & projects

Discover@MU

Search Discover@MU for articles, books, & more!
Limit Your Results
Limit by Discipline

 

Scopus

JSTOR

jstor:   Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
 
  • Search full-text back files of over 300 scholarly journals
  • Does not include the last five years of issues

Google Scholar

Google Scholar  
  • Search for scholarly articles, books and theses

Online Encyclopedias & Handbooks

Current & Controversial Issues

CQ Researcher Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 
  • 1991 to date
  • Weekly reports on controversial topics

Journalist's Resource: Policy Studies

  • Research reports on environment, economics, society and government

Public Agenda

  • Research reports on people's views and values

Pro/Con.org

  • Pros and cons of controversial issues

News & Newspapers

Factiva Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 8000 full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date
  • Company business and financial information

Proquest NewsStand Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 500 full-text newspapers including the Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, LA Times, Washington Post and Boston Globe.
  • 1980's to date

Proquest Historical Newspapers Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Full-page images and article images from the New York Times (1851-2010), Chicago Defender (1910-1975), Chicago Tribune (1849-1990), the St. Louis Post Dispatch (1874-2003) and the Washington Post (1877-1997).
  • Can search and see images of advertisements in the New York Times

Creating Bibliographics/Citing Sources

Create citations in APA and MLA format: Citation Builder

Manage your references and automatically create bibliographies and in-text citations.