Skip to main content

Writing & Citing in Engineering: Research & Writing Tools

Science and Engineering Books on Writing

A Guide to writing as an Engineer

Craft of Scientific presentation
Critical steps to succeed and critical errors to avoid

Writing for Science

Enjoy writing your science thesis or dissertation

Dissertation Timeline Calculator  (developed at the University of Minnesota)
This tool breaks down the dissertation process into manageable deadlines and provides your with important resources and advice.  

Quick Citation Generators

ProQuest and Ebsco databases will also format the citations for you when you save or print them.

Engineering Librarian

Judy Maseles, Engineering LibrarianJudy Siebert Maseles
Engineering Library
W2001 Lafferre Hall
573-882-2715

Email me

Citation/Bibliography Tools

Web-based personal citation databases and bibliography creators:

Import, store, and share research citations and automatically format bibliographies into whatever style needed (APA, MLA, Chicago, and many more)

Research Tools

Libx Toolbar

  • LibX is a browser plugin for Firefox that provides direct access to your library's resources from any web page. A plugin for the Chrome browser should be available later this year.

Alerts in Databases

  • Save searches to run at a future date
  • Set up Auto Alerts (a saved search that is run whenever the database is updated; the results are emailed to you).

Alerts in MERLIN for Books/DVDs

Set Up Your MERLIN Reading History