This is the "Home" page of the "Philosophy" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Philosophy   Tags: philosophy, subject guides  

Last Updated: Feb 3, 2014 URL: http://libraryguides.missouri.edu/philosophy Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Related Guides

Searching with Summon
by Rhonda Whithaus - Last Updated Aug 29, 2012
40 views this year
Zotero
by Rachel Brekhus - Last Updated Apr 21, 2014
951 views this year
LibX Browser Extension: MU Libraries
by Judy Maseles - Last Updated Aug 20, 2013
123 views this year
 

Citing Sources

Chicago (or the closely related Turabian) style is a frequently used style for the discipline of philosophy.  It allows you to use either footnote or parenthetical author-year citation -- ask your professor which (s)he prefers.  There is a brief online guide to citation using the Chicago style at the University of Wisconsin Writing Center.  The University of Georgia has produced a brief online guide to the Turabian style.

Ellis Library also has a copy of the latest edition of both guides in the Ready Reference section.

Philosophy Dictionaries & Reference Online

  • Dictionary of Philosophical Terms and Names
    Produced by philosopher Garth Kemerling, with frequent reference to other published works
  • InPhO Taxonomy
    An entry point for finding information on philosophical ideas. With it you can explore related ideas and conduct focused searches at the Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy, Noesis, and Google Scholar with a single click
  • Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosphy
    A dynamic reference work that maintains academic standards while evolving and adapting in response to new research. You can cite fixed editions that are created on a quarterly basis and stored in the site's Archives
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library  
      
      Icon
    Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
  • Oxford Reference Online Premium  Icon
    A cross-searchable collection of subject dictionaries and quotations books published by Oxford
 

Key Reference Books in Philosophy

Librarian

Profile Image
Rachel Brekhus
Contact Info
174 Ellis Library
882-7563
And I'm on Facebook too.
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip