This is the "Find Background/Overview Info." page of the "English 1000-Social Problems" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

English 1000-Social Problems  

Last Updated: Apr 7, 2014 URL: http://libraryguides.missouri.edu/english1000socialproblems Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Find Background/Overview Info. Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Background/Overview

The links on the right will provide you with information on the social problem that you choose to cover. These sources are meant to be a starting point for your research and should give you ideas for a narrower aspect in a particular social problem as well as keywords to use when searching for articles.

Background/Overview Sources

  • CQ Researcher
    Provides in-depth weekly reports on current and controversial issues. Keep in mind this site covers broad issues so it is best to use broad terms when searching (i.e. obesity, "health care", etc.). A CQ Researcher report provides an overview of a topic as well as statistics, a pro/con discussion, and many references for further research.
  • PublicAgenda.org
    Publicagenda.org is a nonpartisan, nonprofit organization. Like CQ Researcher, it provides detailed reports on social issues and US domestic policy.
    After clicking the link just look for the tabs that say "Issue Guides" and "Research Studies" towards the top of the screen.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library  
      
      Icon
    A collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks that provide general information on a topic.
  • Oxford Reference
    Searchable database of over 100 reference works covering history, literature, art, religion, philosophy, law, science and many other areas.
  • Social Trends and Indicators
    Social Trends and Indicators is an individual e-book within Gale Virtual Reference Library. Search within this publication for statistics on social issues.
  • ProCon.org
    Pros and cons of controversial issues.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip