* The Geological Sciences library is located in room 201 of the Geological Sciences Building.
*Feel free to browse the stacks for books or use the library catalog to find a specific book.
Abstracts: When finding works to cite be sure to avoid using abstracts. Abstracts are merely summaries of the article and will not be accepted as a proper resource.
Peer-Reviewed Sources: For projects that require sources, be sure to use peer-reviewed or scholarly articles. These can be found my using the databases and selecting "peer-reviewed" from the field limiters. For more clarification follow the link below.
Search Strategies: Don't know how to start researching? Use this guide to help develop your search strategy.
Though you can't cite from Wikipedia, you can still use it to your advantage; this video will show you how!
Finding Articles
Finding Books
A comprehensive Internet resource for research and communications in the geosciences, built on a core database aggregation of peer-reviewed journals indexed, linked and inter-operable with GeoRef.
GEOREF is the database of the American Geological Institute. It provides references to serials and other publications covering all aspects of geology and geophysics.
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Julie Arndt
Graduate Assistant
Feb. 2013
