Library Guides: Communication 1200 Public Speaking: Getting Started

Assignments

Communication 1200 course focuses primarily on public speaking as well as small group communication. This course is designed to offer students an opportunity to improve their knowledge and skills both as a producers and consumers of public speaking. Students are required to give a number of speeches in this course: Informative Speech, Persuasive Speech, and a Group Speech.

What type of information are you looking for?

BEAM method of research

Background: using a source to provide general information to explain the topic.
Exhibit: using a source as evidence or examples to analyze.
Argument: using a source to engage its argument.
Method: using a source’s way of analyzing an issue to apply to your own issue.

Citation: Bizup, J. (2008). BEAM: A Rhetorical Vocabulary for Teaching Research-Based Writing. Rhetoric Review, 27(1),72-86.

For more information about how to use BEAM, check out HCL's resource.

Topic & Background Sources

CQ Researcher
In-depth, analytical reporting on current and controversial issues.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Can be linked to Google or Microsoft account to quickly save entries.
Date Coverage: Varies
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Truncation: *; Wildcard:?

Public Agenda
Public Agenda is a non-partisan organization that provides unbiased and unparalleled research that bridges the gap between American leaders and what the public really thinks about issues ranging from education to foreign policy to immigration to religion and civility in American life.
more...less...
Provides research on key issues.
Reference Shelf series
Each book in the Reference Shelf series offers extensive exploration of a pressing topic in modern society, in a compilation of notable articles from respected publications, abstracts of 20 to 30 additional articles, and a bibliography of other sources.
Taking Sides series
The Taking Sides series present current issues in a debate-style format. Each issue includes an issue summary, an issue introduction, and a postscript or challenge questions. The pro and con essays—represent the arguments of leading scholars and commentators in their fields.
Opposing Viewpoints Series
A series of books on current issues which seeks to explore the varying opinions in a balanced pros/cons debate. The series encourages critical thinking and issue awareness by providing opposing views on contentious issues.
Journalist's Resource
This resource examines news topics through a research lens. We curate and summarize public policy research relevant to media practitioners, bloggers, educators, students and general readers. Our philosophy is that peer-reviewed research studies can, at the very least, help anchor journalists as they navigate difficult terrain and competing claims.