Library Guides: History 4550: Age of the Vikings: Home

Reference: Medieval Sources

Medieval Studies: A Bibliographical Guide by Ellis Reference, 1st Floor
Call Number: Z5579.5.C76 1983
Bibliography of medieval drama by Ellis Reference, 1st Floor
Call Number: Z5782.A2 S8 1972
Bibliography of English translations from medieval sources, 1943-1967 by Ellis Reference, 1st Floor
Call Number: Z6517 .F47
Larousse encyclopedia of Byzantine and medieval art by 1 copy in 1st Floor Reference, 1 copy in stacks
Call Number: N5970 .H813
A guide to the study of medieval history by Ellis Reference, 1st Floor
Call Number: Z6203 .P25 1980
Catalogue of dated and datable manuscripts c.700-1600 in the Department of Manuscripts, The British Library by Ellis Reference, 1st Floor
Call Number: Z6621.B837 C37 1979

Online Reference Works

Oxford Reference Online Premium
Oxford Reference Online Premium is a searchable database of over 100 reference works covering history, literature, art, religion, philosophy, law, science and many other areas.
more...less...
Date Coverage: Varies

Maximum Users: 2-5

Truncation:
Automatic

Gale eBooks
A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Can be linked to Google or Microsoft account to quickly save entries.
Date Coverage: Varies
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Truncation: *; Wildcard:?

Search Reference Works in Gale Virtual Reference Library

What titles am I searching?

Reference: History, Chronology and Literature

These reference books are shelved on the first floor of Ellis Library in the Reference Books area.

Brill’s Medieval Reference Library Online
Brill’s Medieval Reference Library Online consists of four reference resources. Brill's Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages covers European medieval history from c.500-c.1500 over a broad range of topics. The Encyclopedia of Medieval Dress and Textiles provides articles on medieval dress and textiles of the British Isles c. 450-1450. The Encyclopedia of Medieval Pilgrimage deals with the role of travel in medieval religious life and covers the period from c.300-c.1500. Finally, The Encyclopedia of the Medieval Chronicle presents the latest research into the chronicles written and studied in the Middle Ages.
Wildcard: ?
Truncation: *
Proximity: ~

Medieval Scandinavia : an encyclopedia
ISBN: 0824047877
The Penguin historical atlas of the Vikings
ISBN: 0670864633
Medieval England : an encyclopedia
Call Number: DA129 .M43 1998
ISBN: 0824057864
Medieval France : an encyclopedia
Call Number: DC33.2 .M44 1995
ISBN: 0824044444
Chronology of the medieval world, 800 to 1491
ISBN: 0133264653
Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages
Call Number: D114 .O94 2010
The Cambridge illustrated history of the Middle Ages
ISBN: 0521266440
The New Cambridge medieval history
ISBN: 0521362911
Great events from history: Ancient and medieval series
Encyclopedia of medieval literature
ISBN: 0816054975
Encyclopedia of medieval literature
ISBN: 0313300542
European authors, 1000-1900 : a biographical dictionary of European literature
The Hutchinson dictionary of ancient & medieval warfare
ISBN: 1579581161
New Catholic Encyclopedia by (available as book or e-book)
Call Number: BX841 .N44 2003
ISBN: 0787640042

Librarian

Rachel Brekhus

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

168 Ellis Library

(Mon and Fri only). I work from home by default Tuesdays and Thursdays, but come to campus for in-person classes and meetings as needed.

MU faculty and staff can reach me quickly in Teams chat.

Students can reach me using the Email Me and Student Appointments buttons above.

Subjects: Behavioral & Social Sciences, History, Humanities, Peace Studies, Philosophy, Political Science, Public Policy, Sociology

Online Map of the Medieval World

Digital Atlas of Roman and Medieval Civilization
more...less...
"The Digital Atlas of Roman and Medieval Civilization (DARMC) makes freely available on the internet the best available materials for a Geographic Information Systems (GIS) approach to mapping and spatial analysis of the Roman and medieval worlds. DARMC allows innovative spatial and temporal analyses of all aspects of the civilizations of western Eurasia in the first 1500 years of our era, as well as the generation of original maps illustrating differing aspects of ancient and medieval civilization. A work in progress with no claim to definitiveness, it has been built in less than three years by a dedicated team of Harvard undergraduates, graduate students, research scholars and one professor, with some valuable contributions from younger and more senior scholars at other institutions." --Introduction, © 2008 President & Fellows Harvard University.

Acknowledgements

This guide was produced by Rachel Brekhus, with assistance from Lee Anne Litzsinger (MU School of Information Science & Learning Technology) and input from Lois Huneycutt (MU Department of History).