Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Russian 4005 German 4005: Totalitarianism and Culture: Starting Places

Bibliographies and Indexes

Some Print Indexes

Most of our online databases have only limited coverage prior to the 1980s. You may want to consult older printed indexes to discover articles published in earlier years. These usually give only citations, using abbreviations or a numeric code for the journal titles. These are usually spelled out in the front of each volume. Once you've identified a journal, you need to look it up using our Journal Finder to see if we have the volume/issue you need and where it is, either online or in print.

Finding Books (and films, recordings,...)

Catalogs, such as MERLIN or MOBIUS, provide an inventory of books held by libraries. Typically they do not search or provide the full text of books or other materials online. Google Book Search or the Hathi Trust search the full text of books, but often can display only portions of the text due to copyright restrictions. Follow the "find in a library" links in these to locate the physical book in a library.

Some useful subject headings:

Auslands Organisation Der Nsdap
National Socialism and…
Nationalsozialistische Deutsche Arbeiter Partei History--Sources
Nationalsozialistische Deutsche Arbeiter Partei--Party Work
Nationalsozialistische Deutsche Arbeiter Partei--Poetry 
Nationalsozialistische Deutsche Arbeiter Partei--Posters
Nationalsozialistische Deutsche Arbeiter Partei--Songs And Music

Communism and Art
Communism And Culture
Soviet Union—Architecture
Soviet Union--Archival Resources
Soviet Unioin--Archives
Soviet Union--Art
Soviet Union--Arts
Soviet Union--Authors
Soviet Union--Books and Reading
Soviet Union--Cultural Policy

Resources beyond MU

Some of the resources listed on guides from other libraries are not available to us off-site, but libraries welcome visitors on-site. I'm happy to facilitate connections with my colleagues at other institutions.

Subject Librarian

Anne Barker's picture
Anne Barker
Contact:
164 Ellis Library
(573)882-6324
Website

Research Consultation

I'm here to help!
You can make an appointment via MU Connect.