In arts & humanities research, secondary sources are works that interpret, describe, analyze, or evaluate primary sources (e.g., a play, records of a production, a piece of choreography, a recording of a performance, etc.). Looking over scholarly secondary sources will help you come up with a research idea and situate it within ongoing scholarly conversations in theatre and performance studies analysis.
Before you start searching using databases, be sure to review the guide Search Strategies.
For more in depth guidance on searching, read the guides Effective Searching of Databases and Advanced Search Techniques (prepared by University of London Library).
Provides access to articles, books, magazines, and more on dance, theatre, and performing arts.
Some of these databases also include magazines.
Contains newspapers, trade journals, general interest periodicals, blogs, podcasts, and websites. With titles like the Wall Street Journal, New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post and the Boston Globe. Users can also access international, national, and regional news.
Contains fully cross-searchable texts including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, etc. Includes the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Index to Black Periodicals Full Text, Black Literature Index, and the Chicago Defender historical newspaper.
A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
GenderWatch is a database of periodicals and newsletters that focus on women and women's issues.
Provides access to scholarly journals in the arts and sciences. Contains a digital library of images, previously known as ARTStor, in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images.
