A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Language Teaching and Learning by
The Routledge Encyclopedia of Language Teaching and Learning is an authoritative reference dealing with all aspects of this increasingly important field of study. Offering a comprehensive range of articles on contemporary language teaching and its history, it has been produced specifically for language teaching professionals and as a reference work for academic studies at postgraduate level. In this new edition, every single entry has been reviewed and updated with reference to new developments and publications. Coverage has been expanded to reflect new technological, global and academic developments, with particular attention to areas such as online and distance learning, teacher and learner cognition, testing, assessment and evaluation, global English and teacher education. Themes and disciplines covered include: Methods and materials, including new technologies andnbsp;materials development Contexts and concepts, such as mediation, risk-taking in language learning and intercomprehension Influential figures from the early days of language teaching to the contemporary Related disciplines, such as psychology, anthropology and corpus linguistics It covers the teaching of specific languages, including Japanese, Chinese, Arabic and African languages, as well as English, French, German and Spanish. There are thirty five overview articles dealing with issues such as communicative language teaching, early language learning, teacher education and syllabus and curriculum design. A further 160 entries focus on topics such as bilingualism, language laboratories and study abroad. Numerous shorter items examine language and cultural institutions, professional associations and acronyms. Multiple cross-references enable the user to browse from one entry to another, and there are suggestions for further reading. Written by an international team of specialists, the Routledge Encyclopedia of Language Teaching and Learning is an invaluable resource and reference manual for anyone with a professional or academic interest in the subject.
Second Language Education by 
Handbook of Language and Ethnic Identity by
This volume argues that language, ethnicity, and identity are defined by the circumstances under which they are created. The foundational chapter by Joshua A. Fishman describes how language, ethnicity, and identity are variable and changeable. The essays in the first part of the Handbook view language and ethnic identity through the lenses of sociolinguistics, psychology, anthropology, politics, and economics. These essays address important topics such as diasporic languages and language and ethnic identity near state borders, as well as the education of Indigenous peoples, language minorities, and the Deaf. The second part of the Handbook views language and ethnic identity through a regional perspective, embarking on a journey through Europe, the Americas, Africa and the Middle East, and Asia and the Pacific. Drawing on both historical and up-to-date accounts, these chapters examine the relationship between constructions of language and ethnic identity and constructions of nation-states. Although the volume offers considerable sophistication in the treatment of language, ethnicity and identity, it has been written for the non-specialized reader, whether student or layperson. Written by well-known scholars in their fields, the contributions offer a list of reference to steer readers to crucial further readings, as well as questions for further reflection and inquiry.
Literacy and Bilingualism by
This handbook applies proven techniques, derived from bilingual/bicultural classrooms, to teaching literacy in the twenty-first century. Its goal is to help teachers increase their understanding of bilingual learners in order to maximize instruction. Teachers can use this handbook to expand their understanding of literacy and bilingualism; implement literacy approaches and assess students’ development; and learn through reflection. nbsp; Practical, flexible format and content. Complete and straightforward instructions, illustrated by case studies, allow teachers to use the strategies in this handbook on their own or in teacher-led study groups. They can select from the variety of approaches the ones which best match their students’ needs and their own teaching style. nbsp; Student-centered focus.nbsp;All of the approaches share characteristics that help motivate students of varying language abilities to develop literacy. nbsp; Field-tested approaches. The approaches have been modified and tested with bilingual students of different ages and language backgrounds in bilingual, ESL, mainstream, special education, and deaf education classes ranging from preschool through high school. nbsp; New in the Second Edition: *five new approaches with their corresponding classroom implementation; *additional information in each introduction addressing its theme; *new material on issues of language, culture, and literacy development of students completely new to the English language; and *annotated bibliographies with sample books to support literacy within language and content area classes. nbsp; Literacy and Bilingualism is intended for a broad audience of teachers in any type of classroom where bilingualism plays a role, and is an excellent text for preservice and inservice courses that prepare teachers to work with English language learners.
The Chicago Manual of Style by 
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers by 
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by 
Research Writing in Education and Psychology--From Planning to Publication by 
Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages by
David Nunan's dynamic learner-centered teaching style has informed and inspired countless TESOL educators around the world. In this fresh, straightforward introduction to teaching English to speakers of other languages he presents teaching techniques and procedures along with the underlying theory and principles. Complex theories and research studies are explained in a clear and comprehensible, yet non-trivial, manner without trivializing them. Practical examples of how to develop teaching materials and tasks from sound principles provide rich illustrations of theoretical constructs. The content is presented through a lively variety of different textual genres including classroom vignettes showing language teaching in action, question and answer sessions, and opportunities to 'eavesdrop' on small group discussions among teachers and teachers in preparation. Readers get involved through engaging, interactive pedagogical features and opportunities for reflection and personal application. Each chapter follows the same format so that readers know what to expect as they work through the text. Key terms are defined in a Glossary at the end of the book. David Nunan's own reflections and commentaries throughout enrich the direct, up-close style of the text.
The Cambridge Guide to Pedagogy and Practice in Second Language Teaching by
This collection of original articles provides a state-of-the-art overview of key issues and approaches in contemporary language teaching. Written by internationally prominent researchers, educators, and emerging scholars, the chapters are grouped into five sections: rethinking our understanding of teaching, learner diversity and classroom learning, pedagogical approaches and practices, components of the curriculum, and media and materials. Each chapter covers key topics in teaching methodology such as reflective pedagogy, teaching large classes, outcomes-based language learning, speaking instruction, and technology in the classroom. Chapters assume no particular background knowledge and are written in an accessible style.
The Cambridge Guide to Second Language Assessment by
This collection of original articles provides language teachers with a theoretical background of key issues associated with language testing as well as practical advice on how to improve the effectiveness of the tests they develop and implement. Written by internationally prominent researchers and educators, the chapters are organized into five sections: key issues in the field, assessment purposes and approaches, assessment of second language skills, technology in assessment, and administrative issues. Chapters assume no particular background knowledge and are written in an accessible style.
Exploring Second Language Creative Writing by
Exploring Second Language Creative Writing continues the work of stabilizing the emerging Creative Writing (SL) discipline. In unique ways, each essay in this book seeks to redefine a tripartite relationship between language acquisition, literatures, and identity. All essays extend B.B. Kachruâe(tm)s notion of âeoebilingual creativityâe#157; as an enculturated, shaped discourse (a mutation of the Sapir-Whorf hypothesis). Creative Writing (SL), a new subfield to emerge from Stylistics, extends David Hanauerâe(tm)s Poetry as Research (2010); situating a suite of methodologies and interdisciplinary pedagogies, researchers in this book mobilize theories from Creativity Studies, TESOL, TETL, Translation Studies, Linguistics, Cultural Studies, and Literary Studies. Changing the relationship between L2 writers and canonized literary artefacts (from auratic to dialogic), each essay in this text is essentially Freirean; each chapter explores dynamic processes through which creative writing in a non-native language engages material and phenomenological modes toward linguistic pluricentricity and, indeed, emancipation.
Group Work in the English Language Curriculum by
Group Work in the English Language Curriculum explores how using small groups in second language classrooms supports language learning. The book asserts that both language and learning are first and foremost social, and therefore when analyzing classroom activity, it is crucial to focus on the social interactions among students and teachers. Chappell's experience as a language teacher equips him to present a clear, evidence-based argument for the powerful influence group work has upon shaping the opportunities for learning, and how it should therefore be an integral part of every language lesson. This book will be of great interest to all language teachers and students of language teaching, as well as those researching in the field of language education and second language learning.
Principles and Practices for Teaching English as an International Language by
What general principles should inform a socioculturally sensitive pedagogy for teaching English as an International Language and what practices would be consistent with these principles? This text explores the pedagogical implications of the continuing spread of English and its role as an international language, highlighting the importance of socially sensitive pedagogy in contexts outside inner circle English-speaking countries. It provides comprehensive coverage of topics traditionally included in second language methodology courses (such as the teaching of oral skills and grammar), as well as newer fields (such as corpora in language teaching and multimodality); features balanced treatment of theory and practice; and encourages teachers to apply the pedagogical practices to their own classrooms and to reflect on the effects of such practices. Designed for pre-service and in-service teachers of English around the world, Principles and Practices for Teaching English as an International Language fills a critical need in the field.
Foundations for Teaching English Language Learners by
An introduction to the education of English language learners, including student characteristics, second language acquisition, policy, programs, assessment, oral language, reading, writing, content-area instruction, primary language support, and technology. Purchase includes access to a companion website.
English-as-a-Second-Language (ESL) Teaching and Learning by
This long-awaited text provides the most current, high-quality pedagogical and assessment approaches and strategies that respond to current policy and high-stakes standards movement, and that can effectively increase academic achievement in at-risk English language learners. This text is framed within a contemporary socio-constructivistic developmental view of teaching and learning in ESL education and from an integrationist perspective, offering an integration of most effective pedagogy for enhancing the quality of instruction and assessment in ESL students. Case examples are provided in boxes and text throughout chapters to help students apply concepts and learn problem-solving techniques through case studies.
101 Clear Grammar Tests by
101 Clear Grammar Tests contains 101 reproducible tests on common points in the teaching of beginning, intermediate, and advanced ESL grammar. This collection of tests includes a variety of question types and reflects a range of different approaches to testing. As a result, busy teachers will be able to easily find tests that resemble the teaching and learning styles of their own classrooms. The tests in this book are arranged by topic, with two tests per grammar point, in a sequence that matches the one found in the Clear Grammar textbooks, Books 1-4. This test bank also contains a bonus-nine comprehensive advanced grammar tests. Like its predecessor (100 Clear Grammar Tests), this book can be used along with any other ESL grammar series.
Teaching English As a Second Language by 
Teaching ESL/EFL Reading and Writing by
Using a framework based on principles of teaching and learning, this guide for teachers and teacher trainees provides a wealth of suggestions for helping learners at all levels of proficiency develop their reading and writing skills and fluency. By following these suggestions, which are organized around four strands - meaning-focused input, meaning-focused output, language-focused learning, and fluency development - teachers will be able to design and present a balanced program for their students. Teaching ESL/EFL Reading and Writing, and its companion text, Teaching ESL/EFL Listening and Speaking, are similar in format and the kinds of topics covered, but do not need to be used together. Drawing on research and theory in applied linguistics, their focus is strongly hands-on, featuring easily applied principles, a large number of useful teaching techniques, and guidelines for testing and monitoring, All Certificate, Diploma, Masters and Doctoral courses for teachers of English as a second or foreign language include a teaching methods component. The texts are designed for and have been field tested in such programs.
Teaching ESL/EFL Listening and Speaking by
Using a framework based on principles of teaching and learning, this guide for teachers and teacher trainees provides a wealth of suggestions for helping learners at all levels of proficiency develop their listening and speaking skills and fluency. By following these suggestions, which are organized around four strands - meaning-focused input, meaning-focused output, language-focused learning, and fluency development - teachers will be able to design and present a balanced program for their students. Teaching ESL/EFL Listening and Speaking, and its companion text, Teaching ESL/EFL Reading and Writing, are similar in format and the kinds of topics covered, but do not need to be used together. Drawing on research and theory in applied linguistics, their focus is strongly hands-on, featuring easily applied principles, a large number of useful teaching techniques, and guidelines for testing and monitoring. All Certificate, Diploma, Masters and Doctoral courses for teachers of English as a second or foreign language include a teaching methods component. The texts are designed for and have been field tested in such programs.
Introduction to Instructed Second Language Acquisition by
Introduction to Instructed Second Language Acquisition is the first book to present a cohesive view of the different theoretical and pedagogical perspectives that comprise instructed second language acquisition (ISLA), defined as any type of learning that occurs as a result of the manipulating the process and conditions of second language acquisition. The book begins by considering the effectiveness of ISLA and the differences between ISLA and naturalistic L2 learning. It then goes on to discuss the theoretical, empirical, and pedagogical aspects of such key issues in ISLA as grammar learning; interaction in the classroom; focus on form, function and meaning; vocabulary learning; pronunciation learning; pragmatics learning; learning contexts; and individual differences. This timely and important volume is ideally suited for the graduate level ISLA course, and provides valuable insights for any SLA scholar interested in the processes involved in second language learning in classroom settings.
Storybridge to Second Language Literacy by
Storybridge to Second Language Literacy makes a case for using authentic children's literature- alternately also referred to as 'stories' or 'real books'-as the medium of instruction in teaching English to young learners, particularly in contexts where children must access general curriculum subjects in English. The author first proposes theoretical foundations for the argument that illustrated children's books are superior to traditional language teaching courses in the primary school. She builds the case around the motivational power of stories, the language and content of quality children's literature, and the potential of literature to contribute to development of second language academic literacy. She then reviews research of the past thirty years that clearly supports her claim. Finally, she uses transcripts from real classrooms to illustrate how teachers in diverse contexts make use of stories. Through the classroom vignettes, a practical model of literature-based instruction emerges that is adaptable to a wide range of primary school teaching contexts, including English as a second language contexts in core-English countries. Storybridge to Second Language Literacy compiles in one volume solid theoretical foundations for story-based instruction, research evidence of the past thirty years supporting the approach (not currently available in a single source), and extensive classroom vignettes illustrating diverse practical applications (not lesson plans).This makes the book valuable for anyone in the field of young learner ELT. MA students in TESOL will find the book useful and will develop an understanding of why and how literature-based instruction works and develop insight to guide their practice. Members of TESOL Elementary Education, EFL, and Bilingual Education SIGs, and IATEFL Young Learner SIG will be interested in the volume. Instructors of teacher development courses should also find the proposed volume a valuable addition to assigned readings. Each chapter is followed by 'Think about it' questions and 'Try it out' suggestions.
Teaching English Language Learners by
Ideal as a supplementary text for a variety of courses and as a guide for in-service teachers and for professional development settings, Teaching English Language Learners: 43 Strategies for Successful K-8 Classrooms provides teachers of all content areas with a broad, practical approach to teaching English language learners in the regular classroom setting.
Guided Comprehension for English Learners by 
How the ELL Brain Learns by
Raise your ELL success quotient and watch student achievement soar! How the ELL Brain Learns combines current research on how the brain learns language with strategies for teaching English language learners. Award-winning author and brain research expert David A. Sousa describes the linguistic reorganization needed to acquire another language after the age of 5 years. He supplements this knowledge with immediately applicable tools, including: A self-assessment pretest for gauging your understanding of how the brain learns languages Brain-compatible strategies for teaching both English learners across content areas An entire chapter about how to detect English language learning problems
English Learner Instruction Through Collaboration and Inquiry in Teacher Education by
This book provides examples of how teacher educators have come together to learn from each other and from English learners. The chapters in this book follow a teacher learning framework that highlights joint work, features inquiry into practice and integrates disciplinary content knowledge with culturally and linguistically responsive teaching.
Success on Your Certificate Course in English Language Teaching by
This book is an invaluable guide to anyone thinking of enrolling in one of the many short pre-service courses that lead to the award of a certificate in English Language Teaching (ELT) or Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages (TESOL). With a clear and concise structure that follows your general interest in TESOL right through to the intricacies of the course itself, it can be used from initial research stages to final qualifications, and beyond. Brandt's decades of experience in this field across the globe shine through.
Essentials for Successful English Language Teaching by
Essentials For Successful English Language Teaching is about how we teach English Language Learners (ELLs) and how our ELLs learn. Farrell and Jacobs encourage those involved in teaching English to develop, maintain and rediscover the reasons that led them to take up the profession. They focus on the essentials in teaching the English language that teachers can implement in their instruction so that their students can excel in their learning: Encourage learner autonomy Emphasize the social nature of learning Develop curricular integration, focus on meaning Celebrate diversity Expand thinking skills Utilize alternative assessment, and Promote English language teachers as co-learners along with their students. These essentials are best implemented as a whole, rather than one at a time and so they are interwoven with each other to encourage a holistic teaching approach. Highly accessible, each chapter comes with case studies and a range of activities to encourage the reader to put each of the essentials into practice. With these the authors aim to bring an inner smile to all English language teachers that reassures them they made the right choice when they chose to become teachers of the English language. This reflective and engaging book will be invaluable to postgraduate students of TESOL and applied linguistics, and in-service language teachers.
Teaching English Language Learners: Practical Articles by Educators from the ELL Outlook by 
Teaching English Language Learners Across the Content Areas by
English language learners (ELLs) often face the difficult challenge of learning both a new language and new subject matter at the same time. In Teaching English Language Learners Across the Content Areas, Judie Haynes and Debbie Zacarian offer strategies, tools, and tips that teachers can use to help ELLs at all levels flourish in mainstream classrooms. This book will show teachers how to * Determine their ELLs' stages of English language acquisition. * Modify assignments and assessments in different content areas for ELLs at different stages of language development. * Ensure that all ELLs participate fully in lesson activities alongside their English-fluent peers. * Communicate effectively with parents and guardians of students from diverse cultures. Real-life examples of lessons from elementary, middle, and high school that have been modified for ELLs in language arts, math, science, and social studies classes show how to effectively put the authors' recommendations into practice. A glossary of important ELL and ESL terms is included as well, for those who are new to teaching ELLs. Whether novice or veteran, all teachers of ELLs will benefit from this wonderfully practical guide to ensuring that ELLs learn English by learning content--and learn content while learning English.
Matthew Sigmon
Graduate Reference Assistant, Ellis Library
Spring 2016
