Textile and Apparel Management

From the momentous invention of the needle some 40,000 years ago to the development of blue denim; from Neolithic weavers to the biggest names in the fashion industry today-this classic guide covers the landmarks of costume history, the forms and materials used through the ages, as well as the underlying motives of fashion and the ways in which clothes have been used to protect, to express identity, and to attract or to influence others.

The set examines the origins of clothing, the development of fabrics and technologies and the social meanings of dress. It also presents information on representative costumes from a wide variety of historical eras.

The set examines the origins of clothing, the development of fabrics and technologies and the social meanings of dress. It also presents information on representative costumes from a wide variety of historical eras.

This handy volume is a one-stop reference for anyone interested in fashion -- its meaning, history and theory. From avedon to codpiece, dandyism to the G-string, Japanese fashion to subcultures, trickle down to Zoot suit,The Berg Companion to Fashion provides a comprehensive overview.

Here, in more than one thousand full-color illustrations, is the history of Western fashion,from ancient Egypt to twentieth-century Paris.John Peacock’s meticulous drawings are organized in chronological sections and accompanied by detailed descriptions of each figure.

Covering the world history of costume, dress, and style from antiquity through the end of the 19th century, focuses on European clothing from the Middle Ages to the 1880s.
*Large book, so on top of shelf and out of call number order.

This edition includes coverage of more than 450 designers, milliners, footwear designers, fashion companies and textile houses.

The Fairchild Dictionary of Fashion, 3rd Edition, defines more than 15,000 fashion terms, including apparel, accessories, and their components; historical and textile terms that relate to contemporary fashion; and the language of the fashion business.

Depicts in rich detail figures representing varied social classes of European (and later American) society from 1066 to 1990.

information-intensive essays on more than 200 designers, providing a more reliable critical measure and a larger perspective than previously available.

Includes Key to fabric swatches (8 p.), Swatch mounting sheets ([32] p.), and 96 fabric swatches.

Textile technology has radically evolved in recent years, and many of the ideas mentioned in the first edition have now become reality, while countless new ones have been conceived. Techno Textiles 2 highlights advanced textiles in production and available to the designer, artist, architect, and consumer today.

Considers textiles as the materials used to create apparel, furnishings, and industrial products. It approaches textiles from a product analysis approach, using professional terminology, and provides examples to illustrate key concepts.

Examines the changes in American civilization from the beginning of the twentieth century to the present.

Examines the changes in American civilization from the beginning of the twentieth century to the present.

Explains how and why certain garments came into being, the construction of the garments, and provides information on the wide variety of materials used in their creation.

Defines and illustrates terminology connected with fabrics, threads, stitches, seams, garment construction, sewing machines, and pressing.

Provides a broad overview of contemporary fashion accessories.