Library Guides: Medical Pharmacology & Physiology 8000: Articles & Online Resources

Clinical Trials

Clinicaltrials.gov
As of 06/17/2024, this resource contained 498,540 trials sponsored by the National Institutes of Health, other federal agencies, and private industry. Studies listed in the database are conducted in all 50 states and in 222 countries.

Use this to see the current research environment for your medical product.

Health Statistics

National Center for Health Statistics
The main portal for delivery of data gathered by the U.S. National Center for Health Statistics, including the Vital & Health Statistics Series, the National Health Care Survey ( NCHS ), the National Health Interview Survey (NHIS), the National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES), and more.
CDC FastStats
The FastStats site provides quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance and is organized alphabetically. Links are provided to publications that include the statistics presented, to sources of more data, and to related web pages.
HCUPnet
An interactive tool for identifying, analyzing and comparing statistics on hospital inpatient care. Uses the data from the Nationwide Inpatient Sample (NIS) of over 1000 hospitals. Also includes data from the State Inpatient Database (SID), representing inpatient care in community hospitals in 36 states (including Missouri), which represents more than half of all U.S. hospital discharges. Create and export tables on costs, demographics, mortality, length of stay, and insurance coverage for dis
more...less...
Search Guide: http://www.hcup-us.ahrq.gov/overview.js
Ambulatory Health Care Data
The National Ambulatory Medical Care Survey (NAMCS) is a national survey designed to meet the need for objective, reliable information about the provision and use of ambulatory medical care services in the United States. Findings are based on a sample of visits to non-federal employed office-based physicians who are primarily engaged in direct patient care.
WHO Statistics
The country statistical pages bring together the main health data and statistics for each country, as compiled by WHO and partners in close consultation with Member States, and include descriptive and analytical summaries of health indicators for major health topics.
Missouri Public Health Information Management System
The Missouri Public Health Information Management System (MOPHIMS) provides a common means for users to access public health related data to assist in defining the health status and needs of Missourians. It includes data from the Missouri Information for Community Assessment (MICA) and the Environmental Public Health Tracking Program (EPHT).
Finding and Using Health Statistics
Tutorial produced by the National Library of Medicine

Point of Care Resources

DynaMed Plus
An evidence based clinical reference source - covers 3,200 topics on diseases, disorders, drugs & more
UpToDate
Overviews of thousands of diseases & drugs. NOTE: access is limited by place & person. You may need to first access UTD from an authorized location and then register for an account.

Resources

Scopus
Database with abstracts and citations of research literature and quality web sources, including journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, abstracts, and patent records. A multidisciplinary resource covering materials from the humanities, sciences and social sciences. Also indexes EMBASE and allows you to locate the most highly cited items and the articles that cite them.
Date Coverage: 1970-present; selected access back to 1823

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

Search Guide: http://help.scopus.com

Tutorial: https://supporthub.scopus.com

Auto Alerts: http://library.missouri.edu/search/databases/alertslist.htm#scopus
PubMed
The National Library of Medicine's free article search engine, containing article references from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, plus publisher-supplied and out-of-scope citations from science and chemistry journals.
MEDLINE (Ovid)
MEDLINE contains citations and abstracts to worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services.
Free account can be created for personalization.
Date Coverage: 1966-date.
Maximum Users: 44
Truncation: Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

Tutorial: http://www.screencast.com/users/lottes/folders/Jing/media/a7a0252d-37e8-4b6e-8d59-29f60369ada3
Factiva
Provides access to newspapers, journals, magazines, television and radio transcripts, photos, etc. from nearly every country worldwide in 28 languages. It also contains business and financial data on companies from around the world. Note: Off-campus users must use the VPN for access.
Also includes continuously updated newswires.
Date Coverage: Varies
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation:Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

License terms restrict access to MU students, faculty, and staff only.

User's Guide: http://proquest.libguides.com/factiva
Business Source Premier
Provides full-text for nearly 2,200 peer-reviewed and trade business journals. Also included are company profiles, industry reports, market research reports, and SWOT analysis.
Date Coverage: 1922-date

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?
Mergent Online
Provides immediate access to data on NYSE, AMEX, Nasdaq and other select regional exchange companies.
Coverage includes: history, business description, properties, subsidiaries, officers, directors, long-term debt, Moody’s rating, capital stock, income statement, balance sheet, statements of cash flow, auditors, exchange and ticker symbol, number of employees, number of shareholders, address, telephone number, annual stock price ranges, trustee, registrar, transfer agent, stock splits, annual meeting date, Moody’s news reports, and direct, real-time access to the EDGAR, the SEC website which includes are annual, quarterly, and special corporation records.
Date Coverage: Current
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Truncation *
Mintel
Includes market research reports for the US. Reports cover a variety of sectors including consumer goods, travel and tourism, financial industry, internet industry, retail, and food & drink. Also included are management and company reports for companies mentioned in the reports. In order to use Mintel, you must first agree to the terms of Mintel Academic Access.
Reports discuss market drivers, market size & trends, market segmentation, supply structure, advertising and promotion, retail distribution, consumer characteristics, and market forecasts. Also included are management and company reports for companies mentioned in the reports.
Free account can be created for personalization.
Date Coverage: 2001-date
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Automatic

EDGAR (SEC Filings)
EDGAR has US company reports filed with the Securities & Exchange Commission. The agency began requiring electronic submission of reports in the 1990s. With some exceptions, all companies were filing electronically by early 1996. Some companies' reports are available back to 1993.

Plunkett's Health Care Industry Almanac 2021 by Jack W. Plunkett
ISBN: 9781628318913
Publication Date: 2020-10-14
Market research guide to the health care and medical industry-for strategic planning, competitive intelligence, employment searches or financial research.