Library Guides: Management 3720: The Entrepreneurial Mindset: Mizzou Library Resources

Finding Articles & Books

Business Source Premier
Provides full-text for nearly 2,200 peer-reviewed and trade business journals. Also included are company profiles, industry reports, market research reports, and SWOT analysis.
Date Coverage: 1922-date

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?
Academic Search Premier
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than an abundance of journals and covers extensive academic disciplines and provides comprehensive content, including PDF back-files, videos, and searchable cited references.
Contains 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

Date Coverage:Varies; primarily 1970s-present with some titles covering earlier dates

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; wildcard: ?

Auto Alerts: http://libraryguides.missouri.edu/alerts/ebsco
Factiva
Provides access to newspapers, journals, magazines, television and radio transcripts, photos, etc. from nearly every country worldwide in 28 languages. It also contains business and financial data on companies from around the world. Note: Off-campus users must use the VPN for access.
Also includes continuously updated newswires.
Date Coverage: Varies
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation:Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

License terms restrict access to MU students, faculty, and staff only.

User's Guide: http://proquest.libguides.com/factiva

Discover@MU
Use Discover@MU to search for books by topic, author, etc. You can also use it to search for articles, but it will return a large number of results.

Looking for Industry Information

In addition to the resources above, you can use the titles listed below to find information specific to your industry.

IBISWorld
Provides reports for all of the industries in the United States as categorized by the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS). It also includes reports on industries in Australia, Canada, China, Mexico, and the U.K.
Research reports contain trends, statistics and analysis on market size, market share of competitors, and industry growth rates. Performance analysis includes emerging industry trends as well as recent production performance and 5 year forecasts. Each comprehensive study also examines details such as; the barriers to entry, operating cost structure (industry averages), technology & systems, and domestic & international markets. Tables and statistics include: Industry revenue, exports, imports, wages, and number of companies in the industry.
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Tutorial: http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://clients1.ibisworld.com/about/us/videos/
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
NetAdvantage includes the "Industry Surveys" which are detailed profiles of 55 industries. Includes information on trends, statistics, market share, regulatory environment, and R&D to name a few. Briefer reports on 115+ sub-industries are also available at the same link. Pay special attention to the "Industry References" section for trade groups, consulting firms, and others related to the industry.
Date Coverage: Current

Maximum Users: Unlimited

SBDCNet resources (Small Business Development Centers)

Trade associations collect information on their industry and can provide valuable data for the entrepreneur. Sometimes they will provide free data, but other times you may have to contact the association directly to see what they have. Check out the website and look for links labeled "Research," "Media," or "Statistics." You can find trade groups listed in the two sources listed above.