Journalism - Historical Research : MU Digital Media Collections

• Columbia Missourian Digitized 1908-1922
• Columbia Missourian (digital web version)
  • Choose the “Archive” link in the top navigation bar to search for digtal stories.
  Columbia Missourian Digital Print Archive (collection of print newspapers only)
  • Columbia Missourian Archive (sometimes called MerlinOne) Search for articles beginning in 2006 (currently there is no access to the 1986-early 2005 archives). (login:  merlin   password:  missourian#1)
  • Columbia Missourian (Missouri Digital Heritage Collection) Browse the historical collection (containing papers from 1929, 1969-1975).
• Chronicling America – Historic American Newspapers
• Independent Voices – Independent Voices is a digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
• Missouri Historical Newspapers – Columbia Missourian 1929, 1969-1975
• ​MU Brick & Mortar – displays scans of building elevations and architectural renderings that provide a historical progression of changes that have occurred on campus. This site provides factual information about when buildings were constructed, how each building looked at time of construction, when new additions were added, and what portions are original and what are additions.
• MU Digital Collections
• Ranly on Grammar Videos
• Savatar – 1891-2005
• Sarah Lockwood Williams Twenty Years of Education for Journalism: A History of the School of Journalism of the University of Missouri Columbia, Missouri, U.S.A. E.W. Stephens Publishing Company. Columbia, Missouri. 1929
• The Walter Williams Memorial Journalism Foundation 
• University of Missouri Bulletin – Journalism Series
• September 11, 2001 Coverage – The collection consists of domestic and international magazines and newspapers that show how the September 11th terrorist attack was portrayed in the media. A number of Missouri newspapers are represented.  It also includes 35 mm slides of the covers of much of the material.
• Freely available Digital Newspapers
• Missouri Digital Heritage Collections
• The History of the Library, University of Missouri -Columbia, 1928-1946 / by June LaFollette DeWeese.
• Making the Printed Picture – 1916
• The First Annual Fifty-Print Exhibition of News and Feature Pictures – 1941
• Fifty-Print Exhibition of News and Feature Pictures – 1947
• The Third Annual Fifty-Print Exhibition of News and Feature Pictures – 1946
• The Second Annual Fifty-Print Exhibition of News and Feature Pictures – 1945

There are lots of ways the libraries can support you!

Get research assistance from the MU Libraries' staff via email, phone, or in person at the library. There's also a searchable list of frequently asked questions. You can chat with a librarian 24 hours a day (M-F) and Saturday and Sundays starting at 10 a.m. You can contact your subject librarian to ask questions or to set up an appointment to meet one-on-one. 

 Call Us: 573-882-3362  | Text Us Your Questions: 573-535-6818