Immigration: Home

• Encyclopedia of North American Immigration (REF JV6465.P68 2005)
• Immigration and Asylum: from 1900 to the present. 3 vols. (REF JV6012 .I56 2005)
• Gale Virtual Reference Library
• Public Agenda Issue Guide: Immigration
• Congressional Digest (REF JK1.C65) Reports pros/cons, background/arguments of legislation before Congress. Indexed in Academic Search Premier Database.
• Opposing Viewpoints Series
• Reference Shelf Series
• Taking Sides Series

• Academic Search Premier (EBSCOHost)
  Index to major journals and magazines in all subject areas. Many articles are full-text. Updated continually. Generally, coverage is 1984 to date. Click on "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" to limit search results to research articles.
• CQ Researcher
  Provides extensive backgroud information and discussion of the pros and cons of current issues of the day such as immigration reform, illegal immigration, etc. Sample Reports: Debate over Immigration ; Cracking down on Immigration ; Immigration Reform ; Illegal Immigration ; Policing the Borders ; The New Immigrants ; etc.
• Lexis/Nexis Academic
  Provides full-text of current and back issues of major newspapers, journals, newsletters, and news sources from around the world.
• Factiva
  Contains business and financial data on companies from around the world. It also provides access to current issues and an archive of over 8000 publications including newspapers from around the globe.
• CQ Public Affairs Collection
  Organized into 22 main topics with hundreds of subtopics, this collection features full-text access to descriptive articles, statistical and historical analyses, historic documents and primary source materials, as well as a directory of key government, nonprofit, and private organizations in each of the major policy areas.
• CQ Weekly
  Congressional Quarterly’s magazine on government, commerce and politics. Complete source for expert coverage of the U.S. Congress, including status of bills, votes and amendments, floor and committee activity, and backroom maneuvering. Browse articles by topic: Immigration

SUBJECT SPECIALIZED DATABASES:  

• Sociological Abstracts
  Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and bhavioral sciences. Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, dissertations, conference papers, etc.
• PAIS
  Emphasis on national and international economic, political and public policy issues.
• Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
  Indexes international periodical literature in Political Science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy.

From the MU Libraries' Gateway , choose the Library Catalog .
Keyword Search :

Think of words and synonyms that describe the topic you are researching. Type keywords that describe your topic into the search box. You can use the asterisk as a truncation symbol. You can use quotation marks to search for phrases. Once you have a list of hits, select one that looks on-target, then examine the subject headings for that item. Try clicking on one of the subject headings for that book, to retrieve similar books. Subject heading searches generally pull up more relevant hits than a keyword search.

Subject Search :

Try a Subject Search after doing keyword search. For a Subject Search, you need to use Library of Congress subject headings.

Suggested subject headings :  

• Emigration and Immigration  
• Emigration and Immigration United States  
• Emigration and Immigration United States Economic Aspects  
• Emigration and Immigration United States Governmental Policy  
• Emigration and Immigration United States History  
• Emigration and Immigration United States Social Aspects  
• Illegal Aliens  
• Illegal Aliens United States  
• Immigrants United States  

If you do not find enough books on your topic, change your search to "ALL MERLIN." By doing so you will be checking the library holdings at UMSL, UMKC, UMR, and MU all at once. Still not enough? Click on the MOBIUS Union Catalog button. This expands your search to about 70 additional libraries in our network. Most books you find through MERLIN or MOBIUS are requestable online, just click on the "Request Item" link. Books requested through MERLIN or MOBIUS take two to three working days to arrive. 

• Immigration: The Changing Face of America
  (http://memory.loc.gov/learn/features/immig/immigration_set2.html)
• Comprehensive Immigration reform
  (http://www.whitehouse.gov/infocus/immigration/)
• 2005 Yearbook of Immigration Statistics (http://www.uscis.gov/graphics/shared/statistics/yearbook/index.htm)

The MLA style manual is shelved behind Ellis Library's Reference Desk on the south side of the first floor. We also have a link list to style manuals online .

Tim Eisenbarth

timothy.eisenbarth@netzero.net

107 Tate Hall, MU English Department

Office Phone (573) 882-6421