Selected Books on Historical Stress
After such knowledge : memory, history, and the legacy of the Holocaust
MU Ellis D804.348 .H64 2004
Novel history : historians and novelists confront America's past (and each other)
MU Ellis PS374.H5 N68 2001
Slaves on screen : film and historical vision
MU EllisPN1995.9.S557 D38 2000
The healing wound : experiences and reflections on Germany, 1938-2001
MU Ellis DD256.5 .S443 2001
Quiet as it's kept : shame, trauma, and race in the novels of Toni Morrison
MU Ellis PS3563.O8749 Z57 2000
Minefields in their hearts : the mental health of children in war and communal violence
MUEllis HQ784.W3 M54 1996
Collective memory of political events : social psychological perspectives
MUEllis BF378.S65 C65 1997
International handbook of multigenerational legacies of trauma
MU HEALTH SCIENCES LIBRARYWM 170 .I612 1998
Between hope and despair : pedagogy and the remembrance of historical trauma
MU EllisD16.9 .B426 2000
Reparations : interdisciplinary inquiries
MU LAW JC578 .R464 2007
International handbook of human response to trauma
MU HEALTH SCIENCES LIBRARYWM 170 .I6103 2000
Trauma transformed : an empowerment response
Available at several MOBIUS libraries. Please click on link for details.
Come Hell or high water : Hurricane Katrina and the color of disaster
MU EllisHV636 2005 .G87 D97 2006
After the storm : Black intellectuals explore the meaning of Hurricane Katrina
MU Ellis E185.615 .A594 2006
What lies beneath : Katrina, race, and the state of the nation
MU Ellis HV636 2005 .N4 W43 2007
HeartLike Water: Surviving Katrina andlife in its Disaster Zone
Not available through MERLIN or MOBIUS. Interlibrary Loan--Use WorldCat.
Lay my burden down : unraveling suicide and the mental health crisis among African-Americans
MU EllisE185.625 .P68 2000
Post traumatic slave syndrome : America's legacy of enduring injury and healing
MU EllisRC451.5.N4 L43 2005
Selected Books on Performance Poetry
Alphabet theater : performance poetry
MU Ellis PS3619.T747 A67 2002
Big towns, big talk
Available at several MOBIUS libraries. Please click on link for details.
Big towns, big talk [electronic resource]
The complete idiot's guide to slam poetry
Available at several MOBIUS libraries. Please click on link for details.
Life according to Motown
GALAHAD 811.54 Sm63l 1991
Performing the word : African American poetry as vernacular culture
MU Ellis PS310.N4 B76 1999
Russell Simmons def poetry jam on Broadway -- and more : the choice collection
MU Ellis PS3619.T747 A67 2002
Slam
Available at several MOBIUS libraries. Please click on link for details.
The spoken word revolution : slam, hip-hop, & the poetry of a new generation
MU Ellis PS615 .S65 2003
Step into a world : a global anthology of the new Black literature
MU Ellis PR9085 .S73 2000
Storms beneath the skin
ARTHUR PS3557 .I2218 S76 2001
Teacher Recommended Readings
Akbar, N. (1990). Chains and Images of Psychological Slavery.
New Jersey: New Mind Productions.
UMS TJE185.625 .A44 1984
Allen, J., Als, H., Lewis, J. & Litwack, L. F. (2000).
Without sanctuary :lynching photography in America .
New Mexico: Twin Palms Publishers.
MU JOUR RESERVE HV6457 .W58 2000
Asante, M. K., & Asante, K. W. (1985).
African Culture: The Rhythms of Unity.
Westport, CN: Greenwood Press.
UMS TJDT14 .A364 1985
Bell, C. C., & Jenkins, J. E. (1991). Traumatic Stress and Children.
Journal of Health Care for the Poor and Underserved, 2 (1)175-188
Request through interlibrary loan.
Butterfield, F. (1995). All God's Children:
The Bosket Family and the American Tradition of Violence.
New York: Avon Books
MU ELLIS E185.96 .B98 1995
Byrd, A. D., Tharps, L. L. (2001). Hair Story:
Untangling the Roots of Black Hair in America.
New York: St: Martin's Press.
MU ELLISE185.86 .B96 2001
Cole, D. (1999). No Equal Justice:
Race and Class in the American Criminal Justice System.
New York: The New Press.
MU ELLIS HV9950 .C59 1999
Danieli, Y. (1998).
International Handbook of Multigenerational Legacies of Trauma.
New York: Plenum Press.
MU HEALTH SCIENCES LIBRARY WM 170 .I612 1998
Gatto, J. T.(1992). Dumbing Us Down.
Philadelphia, PA: New Society.
UMSL DEPOSITORYLC131 .G38 1992
Genovese, E. D. (1976).Roll Jordan Roll: The World the Slaves Made.
New York: Vintage Books.
MU ELLIS E443 .G46
Ginzburg, R. (1988). 100 Years of lynching.
Baltimore, MD: Black Classic Press.
MU ELLIS HV6464 .G5 1988
Grier, W. H., & Cobbs, P. M. (1969). Black Rage.
New York: Bantam Books.
MU ELLIS E185.625 .G68
Gutman, H. G. (1976). The Black Family in Slavery and Freedom 1750-1925.
New York: Vintage Books.
MU ELLISE185.86 .G77 1976
Hacker, A. (1992). Two Nations: Black and white, separate, hostile, unequal.
New York, NY: Macmillan publishing Company.
MU ELLISE185.615 .H23 1992
Kapsalis, T. (1997) Public Privates: Performing Gynecology From Both Ends of the Speculum. Durham, NC: Duke University Press.
MU HEALTH SCIENCES LIBRARY WP141 .K17p 1997
Leary J. D., Brennan, E., Briggs, (November 2005). African American Adolescent Respect Scale: A Measure of Prosocial Attitude.
Research on Social Work Practice, 15 (6) pp. 462-469.
Mazrui, A. A. (1986). The African: A Triple Heritage. Boston: Little, Brown and Company.
Available at several MOBIUS libraries. Please click on link for details.
Mbiti, J. (1970). African Religions and Philosophy. New York: Doubleday.
MU ELLISBL2400 .M38
Miller, D. B. & MacIntosh, R. (1999). Promoting Resilience in Urban African American Adolescents: Racial Socialization and Identity As Protective Factors. Social Work Research. 23 (3), 159-169.
MU ELLISHV1 .S648
Morris, T. (1996). Southern Slavery and the Law, 1619-1860. Chapel Hill, NC: The University of North Carolina Press
MU LAWKF482 .M67 1996
Nichols, E. J. (1976). Introduction to the Axiological Model. Paper Presented to the World Psychiatric Association and the Nigerian Association of Psychiatrists. University of Ibadan, Nigeria.
Request through interlibrary loan.
Ogbu, J. U. (1990). Racial Stratification and Education. In G. E. Thomas (Ed.)
U. S. Race Relations in the 1980's and 1990's: Challenges and Alternatives.
New York: Hemisphere Publishing Company.
MU ELLIS E184.A1 U16 1990
Osofsky, G. (1969). Puttin'on Ole Massa. New York: Harper Torch Books.
MU ELLIS E444 .O8
Pinderhughes, E. (1989). Understanding Race, Ethnicity, and Power.
New York: The Free Press.
MU ELLISHV95 .P55 1989
Poussaint, A. F. & Alexander, A. (2000). Lay my burden down : unraveling suicide and the mental health crisis among African-Americans.
Boston, MA. Beacon Press.
MU ELLISE185.625 .P68 2000
Roberts, D. (1999). Killing the Black Body.
New York: Vintage Books.
MU ELLISHQ766.5.U5 R58 1997
Robinson, R. (2004). Quitting America: The Departure of a Black Man
From His Native Land.
New York: Dutton.
MU ELLISE185.97.R665 A3 2004
Robinson, R. (2000). The Debt: What America Owes to Blacks.
New York: Penguin.
MU ELLISE185.615 .R525 2000
Stamper, N. (2005) Breaking Rank.
New York: Avalon Publishing.
Available at several MOBIUS libraries. Please click on link for details.
Stevenson, H. C. (1994). Racial Socialization in African American Families:
The Art of Balancing Intolerance and Survival. The Family Journal: Counseling
Therapy for Couples and Families. 2 (3), 190-198.
Request through interlibrary loan.
Stevenson, H. C. (1994). Relationship of Adolescent Perceptions
of Racial Socialization to Racial Identity. Journal of Black Psychology.
21 (1) 49-70
MU ELLIS E185.625 .J68
Tatum, B. D. (1997). Why Are All the Black Kids Sitting Together in the Cafeteria?
New York: Basic Books.
MU ELLISE185.625 .T38 1997
West, C. (1993). Race Matters.
Boston, MA: Beacon Press.
MU ELLISE185.615 .W43 1993
Williams, J. (1998). Thurgood Marshall: American Revolutionary.
New York: Times Books.
MU ELLIS KF8745.M34 W55 1998
Winbush, R. A. (2001). Should America pay?
New York, Harper Collins Books.
MU ELLIS E185.89.R45 S56 2003
B to HE contains B, BA, BB, BC.. C, D, .. H, HA, HB, .. HE
2 East = 2nd floor of Ellis, East book stacks.
HSL = Health Sciences Library
| AC to AZ | 4 East |
| B to HE | 3 East |
| HF to LT | 2 East |
| M to NX | 4 East |
| P to PG | 2A West |
| PH to PQ 2999 | 3 Central |
| PQ 3000 to QK | 2 East |
| QLto QR | 2 Central |
| QS to QZ | HSL |
| R to RZ | 2 Central |
| S to SK | 2 West |
| T to TX | 1A West |
| U to VM | 1 West |
| W to WZ | HSL |
| Z to ZA | 1 West |
Use these databases to identify articles on your topic:
Possible key/subject/title words
slam or oral or spoken or performance
poetry
and african american
Roger Bonair-Agard
Staceyann Chin
Jessica Care Moore
Carl Hancock Rux
Saul Williams
FINDING THE FULL-TEXT OF JOURNAL ARTICLES
If you're looking at results in one of the databases listed above, just click on the 
article linker button next to the article citation. The article will display if it's available electronically. If there is no online access, you'll be given the opportunity to look for a print copy in the Library Catalog.
If you have an article reference, but are not currently in a database, go to the MU Libraries' Gateway page and click "Find a Specific Article or Journal" link on the left hand side of the page. Type in the name of the journal or, if you have the citation, a specific journal article. If electronic coverage is not available, check the Library Catalog to see if we have a print subscription to the journal. MU Libraries does not subscribe to all journal titles.
If you find a journal article that you need, but cannot find the article using article linker, fill out a journal article request form.You will need to register the first time you use our interlibrary loan service which is called https://ill.mul.missouri.edu/MUU/logon.html. Usually you will receive the article electronically via email within a few days of placing your request.
Internet Information
Selected Links
Sexual Violence and Historical Trauma
Selected Organizations
Poetry Slam Incorporated (PSI)
Poets.org Academy of American Poets
Verbal Artist Poetry Forum Community
Selected Websites
http://www.webenglishteacher.com/poetryslam.html
Cite your Sources
If you use articles you obtained in full-text version directly from a library database, the citation protocol will be different than if you had found the article in paper copy in the library.
• zotero http://www.zotero.org/compatible with Mozilla
