Library Guides: HIST 2950.02: Europe & the Wars of the 20th Century: 20th Century News

Image and Newsreel Databases

Europeana Photography Collectiion
Over 4 million photographs from the first 100 years of European photography.
Europeana Maps, Globes and Charts
Over 300,000 maps, globes and charts from EU countries
The Advertising Archives
Collection of 100,000 primarily British and American advertisements, posters, and magazine covers. Mostly commercial images, but some political ads and posters are also included. Optional free registration to see larger images.

British Pathe
British Pathé is the dominant force for online newsreels. The Pathé Gazette (later Pathé News) newsreel ran in Britain between 1910-1970. Most of its twice-weekly issues have survived and have been digitised and made available online - some 3,500 hours, or 90,000 individual items.
Digital Newsreel Archive (Movietone)
British Movietone News was the first sound newsreel in Britain, and ran 1929-1979. Its entire run has been digitized and made freely available (to use the site requires registration first), though its primary purpose is commercial sales.

Archivio Storico (Italian)
The online archive of the Italian stated-owned Luce company contains seventy years of newsreels, from the late 1920s onwards. The site is in Italian, but is easy enough to negotiate, and there is plenty of material there from around the world, as well as naturally enough having excellent coverage of Italian life and politics.
Wochenschau-Archiv
This is an archive of the German Deutsche Wocheschau newsreel. Over 6,000 stories have been made available to date, with additional material going back to 1895 and up to 1990. There is English language as well as German text, but unfortunately little informastion is given on the newsreels and the image quality is very low (and requires Windows Media Player).

The Times Digital Archive
Full text electronic copy with every page of every issue of the London Times from 1785 through 2014

History As It Happened (German Newspaper Portal)
German newspaper search covering 1671-1994. Historical newspapers from 1671-1950. German and English interfaces are available. Newspapers are predominantly German language, but English is the second most common language, followed by French and Spanish. Search terms appear highlighted in results. Text version is helpful for readers who have trouble deciphering Fraktur. Newspapers may be browsed by title, place of publication, and year.

Factiva
Provides access to newspapers, journals, magazines, television and radio transcripts, photos, etc. from nearly every country worldwide in 28 languages. It also contains business and financial data on companies from around the world. Note: Off-campus users must use the VPN for access.

Also includes continuously updated newswires.
Date Coverage: Varies
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation:Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

License terms restrict access to MU students, faculty, and staff only.

User's Guide: http://proquest.libguides.com/factiva
Global Newsstream
Global Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full- text format.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Searchable full-image of the Chicago Defender (1909-2010), Chicago Tribune (1849-1999), Los Angeles Times (1881-2000), St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1874-2003), New York Times (1851-2020), Wall Street Journal (1889-2012), Washington Post (1877-2007), Kansas City Call (1919-2010), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2010), and the St. Louis American (1949-2010).