Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Gender, Race, and Class in Popular Culture: Home

English 1000

Background Sources

  • American Decades READY REF E169.12.A419 1994
  • Encyclopedia of American Social History REF HN57.E58 1993
  • Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Culture REF E169.12 .E49 2001
  • Greenwood Guide to American Popular Culture REF E169.1 .G7555 2002 (4 volumes)
  • St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture READY REF E169.1 .S764 2000

Books

Search the MERLIN Library Catalog to find books.

Select the Keyword search and type in the words describing your topic.

  • Example: reality television

Journal Articles

To find journal, magazine and newspaper articles, you need to search an index for your topic. For this assignment, try searching these indexes:

Academic Search Premier
A multi-displicinary database covering all subject areas.

Communications & Mass Media Complete
Covers magazines related to mass media and communications

PsycInfo
Articles and book chapters related to psychology.

Sociological Abstracts
Articles, books, and reports in sociology and related disciplines.

Once you have identified the citations for articles you need, you can search http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://finditatmu.library.missouri.edu (the MU Libraries' electronic journals lookup service) to check if the journal is available full-text electronically. Just type the name of the journal/magazine/newspaper you want and note the dates available.

If it is not available online, there will be a link to search the title in the MERLIN Library Catalog to see if the library has it in paper format. 

Citing Your Work

If you need assistance citing the resources used for your paper, go to our homepage and select "Citing Sources" under the heading "Course Resources."

Librarian

Profile Photo
Rachel Brekhus
she/her/hers
Contact:
168 Ellis Library

(Mon and Fri only). I work from home by default Tuesdays and Thursdays, but come to campus for in-person classes and meetings as needed.

MU faculty and staff can reach me quickly in Teams chat.

Students can reach me using the Email Me and Student Appointments buttons above.
Website

Instructor

Marc McKee