To find works dedicated to research on an author, do a subject search on the author's name, last name first.
A keyword search on the author's name will find these works, plus works by the author, and sections of more general works.
Online text collections deliver more detailed results than the library catalogs.
Listed here are general bibliographies and indexes. For more specific bibliographies see A Guide to Serial Bibliographies for Modern Literatures, Reference PN695 .W67 1995.
Provides access to English language literature in reference works, bibliographies, web pages and journals.
Provides access to articles, books, magazines, and more on dance, theatre, and performing arts.
Indexes journals, books, dissertations and other media covering all aspects of linguistics, speech, language and hearing pathology.
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than an abundance of journals and covers extensive academic disciplines and provides comprehensive content, including PDF back-files, videos, and searchable cited references.
Provides access to scholarly journals in the arts and sciences. Contains a digital library of images, previously known as ARTStor, in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images.
Provides full-text access to scholarly journals from the Johns Hopkins University Press and other University presses covering the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Mathematics.
Contains comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.
Finding criticism of specific poems or stories can sometimes be difficult. If you're stuck, try searching the bibliographies and indexes, or these print reference books can also be helpful:
Poetry Criticism
Reference PN1010 .P499
Short Story Criticism
Reference PN3373 .S386
Both are indexed in the Literary Index.
Book reviews may not be as analytical or scholarly as criticism, but reflect more immediate reaction to a book upon publication. There are some tricks to finding book reviews in the general databases. There are also indexes that list only book reviews.
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than an abundance of journals and covers extensive academic disciplines and provides comprehensive content, including PDF back-files, videos, and searchable cited references.
Contains monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and doctoral dissertations related to the study of literature and linguistics.
Contains comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.
