Encyclopedias 1

Use the resources listed below to get you started on your research.  Keep in mind that the titles below are just a sampling of what we have.  Purchased databases with the icon are accessible only to MU users.

Enter keyword(s) describing the subject and the word "encyclopedia."
e.g. biology and encyclopedia

 Search the MERLIN Catalog for Subject Encyclopedias

• Animal Health and Production Compendium Animal Health and Production Compendium focuses on all aspects of animal health and production, including diseases, nutrition, husbandry and breeding.

• Encyclopedia of MammalsCovers the behaviour, diet, distribution, and evolution of every known living mammal in the world.

• Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic SynthesisEncyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis is a reference source for reagents used in organic synthesis which for each reagent includes uses and characteristics, examples of use, physical data, solubility, preparative methods and literature references

• Encyclopedia of Research DesignAn encyclopedia of information on quantitative and qualitative research design, research methods, statistics and mathematical concepts used in research. Includes reviews of tools and articles that have had an impact on how research is conducted and results are analyzed.

• Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia Online resource covering more than 4,000 species categorized by Amphibians, Reptiles and Birds, Fish, Insects, Mammals and Simple Aquatic Life, including information on evolution, habitat, behavior, range and more

• Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology is a comprehensive reference source for applied chemical science and industrial technology

• New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians is the premier music encyclopedia. Includes the New Grove Dictionaries of Jazz and Opera.

• Oxford Art Online Oxford Art Online includes Grove Art Online, Oxford companion to Western art, Concise Oxford dictionary of art terms, and Encyclopedia of aesthetics. Grove Art Online provides access to over 45,000 signed articles, 21,000 biographies, and 5000 searchable and embedded images.

• Scientific and Technical Acronyms, Symbols and Abbreviations Scientific and Technical Acronyms, Symbols and Abbreviations is a searchable, online resource providing over 200,000 entries covering the abbreviations, symbols and acronyms used in science and technology, coveirng such subjects as chemical symbols, scientific associations and societies, units of measure, and professional credentials.