It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
In March 2020 many publishers and content providers temporarily opened some of their resources to assist universities with moving classes to online only. This guide is a listing of resources with temporary expanded access that has not yet expired.
" American National Standards Institute (ANSI) is providing access to key international standards supporting biological evaluation of medical devices; protective clothing used in health care settings; and business continuity management, security, and resilience. "
ASTM (formerly American Society for Testing and Materials) has made over 20 of their standards open access that relate to medical masks, gowns, gloves, hand sanitizers, and other PPE and medical equipment. No end date provided.
Biochemical Society’s seven journals published by the Portland Press are freely available until further notice. The journals are Biochemical Journal, Clinical Science, Bioscience Reports, Neuronal Signaling, Biochemical Society Transactions, Essays in Biochemistry and Ermerging Topics in Life Sciences.
Freely available Elsevier database to "Identify potential research experts or collaborators in areas related to the coronavirus epidemic across basic science, translational research, or clinical practice. "
The following collections are available through 15 December 2020:
The Japan News Digital Archive
Moscow News Digital Archive
Current Digest of the Russian Press Digital Archive
Current Digest of the Chinese Press Digital Archive
Ogonek Digital Archive
Izvestiia Digital Archive
More than 300 ebooks in the humanities free to read and download.
End date not specified.
Harvard University Press
Harvard University Press e-books purchased by the University of Missouri Libraries and available through either Proquest Ebook Central or Ebsco Ebook Collection have been upgraded to unlimited access. No expiration date provided.
“This is a collection of 400+ online educational courses across numerous technology subjects from IEEE experts in the respective fields of study. They are available in beginning, intermediate and advanced levels, and are 1-3 hours in length. Faculty can earn professional development hours/CEU's and embed them into class projects as supplemental course material for students. (More information). Please note that the following are separate products and are not included in the eLearning Library: 1.) IEEE English for Engineering and 2.) IEEE-Rutgers Online Mini-MBA for Engineers
All journals in JSTOR are freely available through 30 June 2021.
JSTOR Primary Source Collections
The following collections are freely accessible through June 30, 2021:
• Global Plants : Nearly three million high-resolution type specimens and related materials in this growing database showcases hand-selected materials and reference works from contributors around the world.
• Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa : More than 27,000 objects and 190,000 pages of documents and images in 76 sub-collections, chronicling the liberation of Southern Africa and the dismantling of the Apartheid regime.
• World Heritage Sites: Africa : More 86,000 visual, contextual, and spatial objects in 30 sub-collections, providing documentation of African heritage sites.
• 19th Century British Pamphlets : nearly 26,000 pamphlets covering the key political, social, technological, and environmental issues of the 19th century.
This collection features peer-reviewed teaching resources that can be used for distance learning, including self-directed modules and learning activities that could be converted to virtual interactions. The resources are free to download and free for adaptation to local settings. The collection will be reviewed and updated regularly.
Medscape "Medscape is the leading online global destination for physicians and healthcare professionals worldwide, offering the latest medical news and expert perspectives; essential point-of-care drug and disease information."
End date unknown.
• Access over 40 temporarily free books and articles about online teaching and learning, from MUSE’s participating university press and non-profit scholarly publishers
• Explore subject-specific lists of peer-reviewed content from MUSE suitable for use in courses and research
• Review tips for incorporating MUSE journals and books in class use
Database "content made available at no cost by members of the International Association of STM Publishers – including Springer Nature, Taylor & Francis and The BMJ Journals, preprints, proceedings and dissertations provide comprehensive coverage of COVID-19 and other past coronavirus outbreaks, such as MERS and SARS, for context around the current global pandemic. Full-text content in the database is available either directly from ProQuest or via links to publisher sites." Additional information about the database.