This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than an abundance of journals and covers extensive academic disciplines and provides comprehensive content, including PDF back-files, videos, and searchable cited references.
Provides full-text for nearly 2,200 peer-reviewed and trade business journals. Also included are company profiles, industry reports, market research reports, and SWOT analysis.
Contains in-depth, analytical reporting on the most current and controversial issues. Provides extensive background information and discussion of the pro’s and con’s.
Offers cover-to-cover ("core") indexing and abstracts as well as selected ("priority") journals, many of which are full text.
A comprehensive collection of significant primary documents related to US foreign and military policy. Organized into dozens of topical collections, each containing government documents declassified under the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA).
EBSCOhost is an interface that allows users to search over 40 databases across several disciplines at once. Includes full-text access to thousands of journals, magazines, newspapers, etc.
Contains references to articles in periodicals, technical reports, dissertations, and other materials in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences. Contains full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association.
Database with abstracts and citations of research literature and quality web sources, including journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, abstracts, and patent records. A multidisciplinary resource covering materials from the humanities, sciences and social sciences. Also indexes EMBASE and allows you to locate the most highly cited items and the articles that cite them.
Searches across the following Web of Science databases: Core Collection, BIOSIS Citation Index, Current Contents Connect, Data Citation Index, Derwent Innovations Index, KCI-Korean Journal Database, MEDLINE, SciELO Citation Index and Zoological Record.
Contains newspapers, trade journals, general interest periodicals, blogs, podcasts, and websites. With titles like the Wall Street Journal, New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post and the Boston Globe. Users can also access international, national, and regional news.
Includes World Newspaper Archive, including African Newspapers; African American Periodicals 1825-1995; Black Authors, 1556-1922: Imprints from the Library Company of Philadelphia; Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, (1639-1800); Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, (1801-1819); Early American Newspapers, Series 1 (1690-1876) and Series 2 (1758-1900).
Communication Theory
Essentials of Mass Communication Theory by
This comprehensive resource on mass communication theory is structured around the key conceptual areas of text, audience, media, production and society.
Mass Communication Theory by
Accessible, balanced, and enhanced by vivid examples and graphics, this market-leading text has introduced thousands of young scholars to the discipline over two decades. Mass Communication Theory: Foundations, Ferment, and Future, Eighth Edition, provides a complete and detailed overview ofmass communication theory to the present, offering thorough, up-to-date, and effective coverage of both social science and cultural theories.
A First Look at Communication Theory by
The ninth edition of A First Look at Communication Theory justifies again the program's enduring popularity.
Applied Mass Communication Theory by
Applied Mass Communication Theory: A Guide for Media Practitioners, Second Edition bridges a review of theory to the contemporary work of media professionals.
An Integrated Approach to Communication Theory and Research by
This new edition provides a comprehensive overview of current theory and research written by the top theorists and researchers in each area. It has been updated to address the growing influence of technology, changing relationships, and several growing integrated approaches to communication and includes seven new chapters on: ■ Digital Media ■ Media Effects ■ Privacy ■ Dark Side ■ Applied Communication ■ Relational Communication ■ Instructional Communication ■ Communication and the Law The book continues to be essential reading for students and faculty who want a thorough overview of contemporary communication theory and research.
Media Convergence by
The development of digital media presents a unique opportunity to reconsider what communication is, and what individuals, groups, and societies might hope to accomplish through new as well as old media.
Communication Theory and Millennial Popular Culture by
Theories help to troubleshoot gaps in our understanding, and to make sense of a world that is constantly changing.
Visual Communication Theory and Research by
In today's multimedia environment, visuals are essential and expected parts of storytelling.
Introducing Communication Theory by
Introducing Communication Theory: Analysis and Application focuses on the links among theory and everyday experiences.
Online Handbooks and Encyclopedias for Research Design and Methodology
Constructing Research Questions by
All researchers want to produce interesting and influential theories. A key step in all theory development is formulating innovative research questions that will result in interesting and significant research.
Applied Communication Research Methods by
Applied Communication Research Methods: Getting Started as a Researcher demonstrates how to apply concepts to research problems, issues, projects, and questions that communication practitioners face every day.
Qualitative Research Methods for Media Studies by
This book introduces the essential qualitative methods used in media research, with an emphasis on integrating theory with practice.
Social Research by
Original, fresh and relevant this is a theoretically-informed practical guide to researching social relations.
Interpreting Quantitative Data by
How do quantitative methods help us to acquire knowledge of the real world? What are the `do's' and `don'ts' of effective quantitative research? This refreshing and accessible book provides students with a novel and useful resource for doing quantitative research.
Understanding Communication Research Methods by
Comprehensive, innovative, and focused on the undergraduate student, this textbook prepares students to read and conduct research.
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Data Analysis by
The wide range of approaches to data analysis in qualitative research can seem daunting even for experienced researchers. This handbook is the first to provide a state-of-the art overview of the whole field of QDA; from general analytic strategies used in qualitative research, to approaches specific to particular types of qualitative data, including talk, text, sounds, images and virtual data.
Contemporary Research Methods and Data Analytics in the News Industry by
The advent of digital technologies has changed the news and publishing industries drastically.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods by
Qualitative methods are central to research conducted in Education, Nursing, Sociology, Anthropology, and other disciplines in the humanities, social sciences and health sciences.
Qualitative Research Methods in Consumer Psychology by
This volume presents readers with theoretical and applied approaches to using qualitative research methods in ethnographic studies looking at consumer behavior.
Encyclopedia of Public Relations by
When initially published in 2005, the two-volume Encyclopedia of Public Relations was the first and most authoritative compilation of the subject. It remains the sole reference source for any library serving patrons in business, communication, and journalism as it explores the evolution of the field with examples describing the events, changing practices, and key figures who developed and expanded the profession.
Doing Qualitative Research Differently by
Hollway and Jefferson have updated their ground-breaking book for students and researchers looking to do qualitative research differently.
A Handbook of Media and Communication Research by
A Handbook of Media and Communication Research presents qualitative as well as quantitative approaches to the study of media and communication, integrating perspectives from both the social sciences and the humanities.
Encyclopedia of Political Communication by
Political communication began with the earliest studies of democratic discourse by Aristotle and Plato. However, modern political communication relies on an interdisciplinary base which draws on concepts from communication, political science, journalism, sociology, psychology, history, rhetoric, and others.
Encyclopedia of Survey Research Methods by
To the uninformed, surveys appear to be an easy type of research to design and conduct, but when students and professionals delve deeper, they encounter the vast complexities that the range and practice of survey methods present.
Qualitative Research by
The Oxford Handbook of Qualitative Research presents a comprehensive overview of the field of qualitative research.
A Handbook for Social Science Field Research by
A Handbook for Social Science Field Research provides both novice and experienced researcher with valuable insights into a key list of critical texts pertaining to a wide array of social science methods useful when doing fieldwork.
Communication Research Methodology by
This introduction to communication research methods takes the student from the conceptual beginnings of a research project through the design and analysis.
Encyclopedia of Research Design by
Research design, with its statistical underpinnings, can be especially daunting for students and novice researchers. At its heart, research design might be described simply as a formalized approach toward problem solving, thinking, and acquiring knowledge,
An Integrated Approach to Communication Theory and Reserach by
This volume provides an overview of communication study, offering theoretical coverage of the broad scope of communication study as well as integrating theory with research.
Encyclopedia of Journalism by
"Written in a clear and accessible style that would suit the needs of journalists and scholars alike, this encyclopedia is highly recommended for large news organizations and all schools of journalism." --Starred Review, Library Journal
Qualitative Research from Start to Finish by
This lively, practical text presents a fresh and comprehensive approach to doing qualitative research. The book offers a unique balance of theory and clear-cut choices for customizing every phase of a qualitative study.
Polls
Data
Includes profiles of advertisers and media companies and data on ad spending, agency rankings and markets. To access the Datacenter, click the link in the banner at the top of the Advertising Age homepage.
Provides circulation statistics for several thousand U.S. and Canadian newspapers and periodical publications. Reports include statistics on different subscriptions, such as digital, home delivery, and single-copy sales, and are available in PDF format.
Market Research Databases
Includes market research reports for the US. Reports cover a variety of sectors including consumer goods, travel and tourism, financial industry, internet industry, retail, and food & drink. Also included are management and company reports for companies mentioned in the reports. In order to use Mintel, you must first agree to the terms of Mintel Academic Access.
