Q: Will the Library Catalog replace Discover@MU?
A: No, Discover@MU will continue to be available and will serve as the primary library search box as it contains all of the library's holdings, online collections and repositories.
Q: What's the difference between the Library Catalog and Discover@MU?
A: The Catalog is ideal for users who are interested in searching our physical format collections or who need traditional browsing functionality of our physical collection. It is also helpful for renewing multiple University of Missouri items at once. Discover@MU includes physical materials, online collections, MOspace, the Digital Library, and more. It is ideal for broad searching across all our physical and online collections.
Q: How do I access the new catalog?
A: The Catalog can be accessed here.
Q: What does the Catalog include?
A: The library catalog includes all library cataloged materials. This includes primarily physical materials with some cataloged online resources.
Q: Do I need to login to use the new catalog?
A: No, you are able to access and search the catalog without needing to log in first. However, you will need to login to place requests, view your loans, or renew checked-out materials.
Q: How do I limit results?
A: After executing a search, limiters will be available in the right column. They include:
Q: Can I find print course reserves?
A: Yes. In fact, the library catalog is the only platform that will display print course reserves as the feature is not available in Discover@MU. Just click the Course Reserves link in the navigation bar at the top. You can search for courses by department, course name, course number, or instructor. You may also search "MU" to retrieve all the courses for campus.
Q: Are online materials included in the Catalog?
A: Generally, no. Cataloged online items will be included but the majority of our online materials are not cataloged. Use DIscover@MU to comprehensively search the libraries' holdings and online materials.
Q: Can I request items in the catalog?
A: Yes. Unlike Discover@MU, you need to click the title in the search results to access the title page. On the title page, the Holdings tab will list the items for the title with a Request link. You will be required to log in for this feature. Once you've logged in, indicate your "no longer required after" date, select your pickup location, and submit the request.
Q: Can guest users request Special Collections materials?
A: Instead of a "Place Request" link for materials in certain locations, there will be a link to a website with information on making an appointment with Special Collections to view the materials.
Q: Can I renew items I already have checked out in the Catalog?
A: Yes! Once logged in, you will see your checked-out items in your account, where you can renew selected items or all items at once!
Q: What can I do in my account in the Catalog?
A: You can view saved items, renew checked-out items, view/cancel requests, view fines, view profile information, setup your preferred pickup location, view search history, and create lists.
