Public Libraries often offer free streaming services for patrons. Contact your public library to see if they have streaming services available.
Daniel Boone Regional Library allows users to watch up to six free films a month on Kanopy for those who have a library card, and is also subscribed to Hoopla, which includes not only videos, but audiobooks, comics, eBooks, and more.
Search for DVDs/Videos in MERLIN
Search the MERLIN catalog for video materials (VHS, DVD, film, and online video)
Crackle's catalog includes popular movies and television shows, cult favorites, documentaries and usually a large anime selection. Their selection of older but usually well known titles is small and rotates regularly. Titles are available to stream online for free with advertisements.
"Crunchyroll is the world’s largest destination for anime and manga, boasting a global community of more than 45 million registered users and over 2 million subscribers. The service is available for free or through a premium offering that allows users to watch ad-free with access to simulcasts—top series available immediately after Japanese broadcast."
"For nearly three decades, American Experience has been television's most-watched history series. On air and online, the series brings to life the incredible characters and epic stories that have shaped America’s past and present." Some videos are free and others require a membership to watch.
Provides documentaries on a variety of topics. You can sort by category or explore by browsing new arrivals or the top 100 documentaries on the website. Still unsure of what to watch? Hit "Surprise me!"
From Duke University, "the AdViews digital collection provides access to thousands of historic commercials created for clients or acquired by the D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B) advertising agency or its predecessor during the 1950s - 1980s."
"British Pathé is considered to be the finest newsreel archive in the world and is a treasure trove of 85,000 films unrivaled in their historical and cultural significance. Spanning the years from 1896 to 1978, the collection includes footage from around the globe of major events, famous faces, fashion trends, travel, science and culture."
"This library contains digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download."