Library Guides: Draft of Finding Book and Film Reviews: Book Reviews

Discover@MU

Discover@MU
Search engine for library materials including books and articles. You may be prompted to sign in with your MU user name and password before you can enter a search. See directions below for locating book reviews.

How to find book reviews in Discover@MU and other Ebsco databases

Finding book reviews in EBSCO based databases such as, Academic Search Primer and Discover@MU can seem daunting at first; however there is a way to filter results to make it much easier.

Enter the title of the book and click Search. Use quotation marks to search a phrase, e.g. "black panther"
Check off Reviews in the left column of the search results page. *If you don't see this check box, click the Show More options in the Filter by Format category.
Also check off Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals if you only want reviews from scholarly publications.

Discover@ MU Academic Search Primer

Additional resources for finding book reviews

Academic Search Premier
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than an abundance of journals and covers extensive academic disciplines and provides comprehensive content, including PDF back-files, videos, and searchable cited references.
Contains 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

Date Coverage:Varies; primarily 1970s-present with some titles covering earlier dates

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; wildcard: ?

Auto Alerts: http://libraryguides.missouri.edu/alerts/ebsco
Reader's Guide Retrospective 1890-1982
Contains comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.
Date Coverage: 1890-1982

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?
ABELL
Contains monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and doctoral dissertations related to the study of literature and linguistics.
Contains works published from all over the world with a multitude of English literature covered. Such as but not limited to British, American, Commonwealth and Anglo-Saxon culture.Date Coverage: 1920-present

Maximum Users: 4

Truncation:
Truncation: *;Wildcard: ?