Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Biochemistry 4974W: Library guide for Biochemistry Lab

Which database should I use?

Database name

Date coverage

         Use when you’re looking for. . .

Scopus

 

1970-date
for most journals

  • The most current research (including prepub articles) on a specific topic in any scientific area **
  • The most cited article on a topic
  • Who is citing a particular article in other journal articles
  • Review articles
  • Journal articles by a specific author
  • Articles listed in the bibliography of another journal article

Scifinder Scholar

1907-date
(with selected coverage back to 1878)

  • Comprehensive chemical information
  • Information and articles on a chemical substance
  • Patents
  • Most cited article on a topic
  • Who is citing a particular article in journals
  • Review articles
  • Articles by a specific author
  • Articles listed in the bibliography of another journal article

Google Scholar

Not specified

  • Research on a topic in any subject area
  • Who is citing a particular article in journals or books
  • A scholarly database that is freely available to all

PubMed

1946-date

  • The most current research (including prepub articles) on a biomedical topic
  • Research on a particular disease or medical condition
  • Review or systematic review articles
  • A scholarly database that is freely available to all
Web of Science

1990-date

  • The most current research (including prepub articles) on a specific topic in any scientific area **
  • The most cited article on a topic
  • Who is citing a particular article in other journal articles
  • Review articles
  • Journal articles by a specific author
  • Articles listed in the bibliography of another journal article

  •  

**Gold text indicates most unique features of the database