This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Date Coverage:Varies; primarily 1970s-present with some titles covering earlier dates
CQ Researcher is a complete source for in-depth, analytical reporting on the most current and controversial issues of the day. Focusing on one topic, each weekly CQ Researcher provides extensive background information and discussion of the pro’s and con’s.
Communication and Mass Media Complete offers cover-to-cover ("core") indexing and abstracts for more than 620 journals, and selected ("priority") coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 820 titles, 500 of which are full text.
The Digital National Security Archive is a comprehensive collection of significant primary documents central to US foreign and military policy since 1945. The Archive is organized into dozens of topical collections, each containing government documents declassified under the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA).
Discover@MU is a simple and fast search engine that helps you find relevant information on any topic from the University of Missouri Libraries’ collections. Results contain citations for scholarly journal articles, books and e-books, DVDs, magazines, newspapers, dissertations, and many more resources.
Indexes about 2600 popular magazines, with complete text available for about 1/3 of the titles. Coverage for most magazines begins with 1993. Of particular interest is the inclusion of the complete text for over 600 consumer health pamplets. Provided courtesy of MORENET.
PsycINFO contains references to articles in more than 1,300 periodicals as well as technical reports, dissertations, and other materials in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences. With the inclusion of PsycARTICLES, over 44,000 full-text articles from more than 50 journals published by the American Psychological Association and participating publishers are provided.
The Sage Collections offer full-text access to popular journals in communication Studies, criminology, and sociology published by Sage and participating societies. The collections include the most current issues and up to 40 years of backfiles. Access is provided through any standard Web browser and the searching features include reference linking and the ability to browse by any individual journal issue.
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources, including journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, abstracts, and patent records. It is a multidisciplinary resource covering materials from the humanities, sciences and social sciences. Also indexes EMBASE articles. Scopus allows you to locate the most highly cited items and the articles that cite them.
Date Coverage: 1970-present; selected access back to 1823
Searches across the following Web of Science databases: Core Collection, BIOSIS Citation Index, Current Contents Connect, Data Citation Index, Derwent Innovations Index, KCI-Korean Journal Database, MEDLINE, SciELO Citation Index and Zoological Record.
Date Coverage: Varies by database
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in Political Science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy.
Factiva provides access to more than 32,000 sources (such as newspapers, journals, magazines, television and radio transcripts, photos, etc.) from nearly every country worldwide in 28 languages, including more than 600 continuously updated newswires. It also contains business and financial data on companies from around the world. License terms restrict access to MU students, faculty, and staff only.
ProQuest Newsstand contains over 1169 newspapers, 134 trade journals, 62 general interest periodicals, 134 blogs, podcasts, and websites. With titles like the Wall Street Journal, New York Times, and major regionals like the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post and the Boston Globe, users can also find access to international, national, and regional news.
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers and contains full text for more than 300 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full-text television and radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc. Access provide by MOREnet.
Newsbank includes Early American Newspapers, Series 1 (1690-1876); U. S. Congressional Serial Set and Serial Set Maps (1817-1980); Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, (1639-1800); Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, (1801-1819); American State Papers, (1789-1838); World Newspaper Archive, which includes America's Historical Newspapers and African Newspapers.
Essentials of Mass Communication Theory
by Arthur Asa Berger
Publication Date: 1995-07-05
This comprehensive resource on mass communication theory is structured around the key conceptual areas of text, audience, media, production and society.
Mass Communication Theory
by Stanley J. Baran; Dennis K. Davis
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
MASS COMMUNICATION THEORY: FOUNDATIONS, FERMENT, AND FUTURE, Seventh Edition, introduces readers to current and classical mass communication theories, and explains the media literacy movement in easily understood terms.
A First Look at Communication Theory
by Em Griffin; Andrew Ledbetter; Glenn Sparks
Publication Date: 2014-03-28
The ninth edition of A First Look at Communication Theory justifies again the program's enduring popularity.
Applied Mass Communication Theory
by Jack Rosenberry; Lauren A. Vicker
Publication Date: 2017-05-15
Applied Mass Communication Theory: A Guide for Media Practitioners, Second Edition bridges a review of theory to the contemporary work of media professionals.
An Integrated Approach to Communication Theory and Reserach
by Michael Salwen; Don W. Stacks (Editor); Michael B. Salwen (Editor)
Publication Date: 2008-11-07
This volume provides an overview of communication study, offering theoretical coverage of the broad scope of communication study as well as integrating theory with research.
by Klaus Bruhn Jensen
Publication Date: 2010-02-22
The development of digital media presents a unique opportunity to reconsider what communication is, and what individuals, groups, and societies might hope to accomplish through new as well as old media.
Communication Theory and Millennial Popular Culture
by Kathleen Glenister Roberts (Editor)
Publication Date: 2015-12-23
Theories help to troubleshoot gaps in our understanding, and to make sense of a world that is constantly changing.
Visual Communication Theory and Research
by Shahira Fahmy; Mary Angela Bock; Wayne Wanta
Publication Date: 2014-05-01
In today's multimedia environment, visuals are essential and expected parts of storytelling.
Introducing Communication Theory
by Richard West; Lynn H. Turner
Publication Date: 2013-09-17
Introducing Communication Theory: Analysis and Application focuses on the links among theory and everyday experiences.
Online Handbooks and Encyclopedias for Research Design and Methodology
All researchers want to produce interesting and influential theories. A key step in all theory development is formulating innovative research questions that will result in interesting and significant research.
Applied Communication Research Methods: Getting Started as a Researcher demonstrates how to apply concepts to research problems, issues, projects, and questions that communication practitioners face every day.
How do quantitative methods help us to acquire knowledge of the real world? What are the `do's' and `don'ts' of effective quantitative research? This refreshing and accessible book provides students with a novel and useful resource for doing quantitative research.
The wide range of approaches to data analysis in qualitative research can seem daunting even for experienced researchers. This handbook is the first to provide a state-of-the art overview of the whole field of QDA; from general analytic strategies used in qualitative research, to approaches specific to particular types of qualitative data, including talk, text, sounds, images and virtual data.
When initially published in 2005, the two-volume Encyclopedia of Public Relations was the first and most authoritative compilation of the subject. It remains the sole reference source for any library serving patrons in business, communication, and journalism as it explores the evolution of the field with examples describing the events, changing practices, and key figures who developed and expanded the profession.
A Handbook of Media and Communication Research presents qualitative as well as quantitative approaches to the study of media and communication, integrating perspectives from both the social sciences and the humanities.
Political communication began with the earliest studies of democratic discourse by Aristotle and Plato. However, modern political communication relies on an interdisciplinary base which draws on concepts from communication, political science, journalism, sociology, psychology, history, rhetoric, and others.
To the uninformed, surveys appear to be an easy type of research to design and conduct, but when students and professionals delve deeper, they encounter the vast complexities that the range and practice of survey methods present.
A Handbook for Social Science Field Research provides both novice and experienced researcher with valuable insights into a key list of critical texts pertaining to a wide array of social science methods useful when doing fieldwork.
Research design, with its statistical underpinnings, can be especially daunting for students and novice researchers. At its heart, research design might be described simply as a formalized approach toward problem solving, thinking, and acquiring knowledge,
"Written in a clear and accessible style that would suit the needs of journalists and scholars alike, this encyclopedia is highly recommended for large news organizations and all schools of journalism." --Starred Review, Library Journal
This lively, practical text presents a fresh and comprehensive approach to doing qualitative research. The book offers a unique balance of theory and clear-cut choices for customizing every phase of a qualitative study.
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research.
Public Agenda Is nonprofit organization that conducts opinion surveys on current issues.
World Public Opinion provides comprehensive analyses of international and US polls on the world’s most pressing challenges — and the institutions designed to address them.
Nielsen MyBestSegmentsprovides market segment data by linking consumer behaviors for shopping, financial, media and much more, to gain powerful insights that allow you to create actionable strategies and tactically execute while benchmarking your performance.
To access the Datacenter, click the link on the left side of the Advertising Age homepage. The Datacenter includes profiles of advertisers and media companies and data on ad spending, agency rankings and markets.
Alliance for Audited Media (AAM) [formerly: Audit Bureau of Circulation (ABC)] provides circulation statistics for several thousand US and Canadian newspapers and periodical publications. Reports include statistics on paid and non-paid subscriptions, including digital subscriptions, home delivery and single-copy sales and are in PDF format. Yearly audit reports also include geographic breakdowns of circulation and some demographic information on readership. Search by title, periodical classification, market area, or circulation size.
Includes market research reports for Europe, the UK, and the US. Reports cover a variety of sectors including consumer goods, travel and tourism, financial industry, internet industry, retail, and food & drink. Reports discuss market drivers, market size & trends, market segmentation, supply structure, advertising and promotion, retail distribution, consumer characteristics, and market forecasts. Also included are management and company reports for companies mentioned in the reports.
eMarketer is a business information service that aggregates, filters and analyzes research pertaining to the digital marketplace. They gather both domestic and global information from more than 4,000 different trusted sources and organize it into different content such as analyst reports, charts, articles, interviews and more.
Reports covering technology and market trends in various technology, energy & manufacturing related fields including energy, healthcare, food, & information technology. MU has access to all reports in “Industry Research,” “Technology Research,” and Economic Research” with limited access to those in “Career Research” and “Live and Virtual Events.” Click on Member Login and enter your name and MU email address to access. Downloading entire reports is not allowed.
Reports covering technology and market trends in various technology, energy & manufacturing related fields including energy, healthcare, food, & information technology. MU has access to all reports in “Industry Research,” “Technology Research,” and Economic Research” with limited access to those in “Career Research” and “Live and Virtual Events.” MU faculty and staff login with your username and password.
Use the following links to find professional associations related to communication studies.
The ACA is a not-for-profit virtual professional association with actual presence in the world of communication scholars and practitioners. ACA is committed to enabling the effective use of new and evolving technologies to facilitate communication instruction, research and criticism, and to offering a technologically supportive venue for all who study the ways in which humans communicate.
The Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication (AEJMC) is a nonprofit, educational association of journalism and mass communication educators, students and media professionals. The Association’s mission is to promote the highest possible standards for journalism and mass communication education, to cultivate the widest possible range of communication research, to encourage the implementation of a multi-cultural society in the classroom and curriculum, and to defend and maintain freedom of communication in an effort to achieve better professional practice and a better informed public.
The Association for Women in Communications is the one organization that recognizes the complex relationships that exist across communications disciplines. Modern communicators must demonstrate competence in varied disciplines and be able to network and make career moves across the broad spectrum of communications fields. Disciplines represented within the association include print and broadcast journalism, television and radio production, film, advertising, public relations, marketing, graphic design, multi-media design, and photography.
The Intercultural Communication Institute (ICI) is a nonprofit charity with the mission of fostering an awareness and appreciation of cultural difference in both the international and domestic arenas. ICI was founded by Janet Bennett and Milton Bennett in fulfillment of the vision of Stanton D. Bennett, an international businessman whose life reflected a commitment to world peace, hospitality to foreign visitors, and generous support for education.
ICA is an academic association for scholars interested in the study, teaching and application of all aspects of human and mediated communication. It began more than 60 years ago as a small organization of U.S. researchers and now is truly international with more than 4300 members in over 80 countries. Since 2003, ICA has been officially associated with the United Nations as a non-governmental organization (NGO).
The International Telecommunications Society (ITS) is an association of professionals in the information, communications, and technology sectors. ITS is an independent, non-aligned and not-for-profit organization with a worldwide network of about 400 members. ITS provides a forum where academic, private sector, and government communities can meet to identify pressing new problems and issues, share research results, and form new relationships and approaches to address outstanding issues.
The National Communication Association advances Communication as the discipline that studies all forms, modes, media, and consequences of communication through humanistic, social scientific, and aesthetic inquiry.
WCA is dedicated to the improvement of communication worldwide by linking those people who hold common professional and personal interestsSociety for Intercultural Education, Training and Research (SIETAR)The mission of SIETAR USA is to promote and facilitate intercultural education, training and research through professional interchange.