Library Guides: English 1000: Monsters: Finding Articles

Multi-Discipinary Databases

Academic Search Premier
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than an abundance of journals and covers extensive academic disciplines and provides comprehensive content, including PDF back-files, videos, and searchable cited references.
Contains 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

Date Coverage:Varies; primarily 1970s-present with some titles covering earlier dates

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; wildcard: ?

Auto Alerts: http://libraryguides.missouri.edu/alerts/ebsco
JSTOR
Provides access to scholarly journals in the arts and sciences.
Specifically contains access to Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, Complement, Ecology & Botany and General Science Collections.
Free account can be created for personalization.
Date Coverage: Varies by title
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Plurals: +

Search Guide: https://support.jstor.org/hc/en-us/articles/115004701828-Search-Help-Resources-Overview
Google Scholar
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Please see Google Scholar & Findit@MU for instructions on adding Findit@MU links to your Google Scholar page.
Date Coverage: NA
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Not supported

Subject Specific Databases

RESEARCH BY SUBJECT

ATLA Religion Database
Contains indexes published annually by the American Theological Library Association focusing on theological studies. Also provides bibliographic records covering topics such as biblical studies, world religions, church history and religion in social issues.
Date Coverage: 1949-date

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *;Wildcard: ?

Search Guide: https://support.ebsco.com/help/Atla
GenderWatch
GenderWatch is a database of periodicals and newsletters that focus on women and women's issues.
Free account can be created for personalization.
Date Coverage: 1970 - date
Maximum Users: 4
Truncation: Truncation: * Wildcard: ?

Newspapers & News Sources (current & historical)

Factiva
Provides access to newspapers, journals, magazines, television and radio transcripts, photos, etc. from nearly every country worldwide in 28 languages. It also contains business and financial data on companies from around the world.
Also includes continuously updated newswires.
Date Coverage: Varies
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation:Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

License terms restrict access to MU students, faculty, and staff only.

User's Guide: http://proquest.libguides.com/factiva
US Newsstream
Contains newspapers, trade journals, general interest periodicals, blogs, podcasts, and websites. With titles like the Wall Street Journal, New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post and the Boston Globe. Users can also access international, national, and regional news.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Searchable full-image of the Chicago Defender (1909-2010), Chicago Tribune (1849-1996), Los Angeles Times (1881-1995), St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1874-2003), New York Times (1851-2015), Wall Street Journal (1889-2002) and the Washington Post (1877-2002).
Reader's Guide Retrospective 1890-1982
Contains comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.
Date Coverage: 1890-1982

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

Topic & Background Sources

Gale Virtual Reference Library
A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Can be linked to Google or Microsoft account to quickly save entries.
Date Coverage: Varies
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Truncation: *; Wildcard:?

Finding the TEXT of an article

In any of our databases and sometimes on Google Scholar, if you do not see a PDF or HTML link to an article, you should see a Find it @ MU button.

When you click this button it will either automatically take you to the article or show you a screen that will tell you if we have this article and where to find it if we do.

If we don't have an article online or in print, you can order it via Interlibrary Loan. In most cases you will receive your article online via your MU e-mail account within a few business hours. There is no charge for this service.

Find a Specific Article

If you have an article citation use this link to find the full-text or print copy of article.

Find a Specific Article

Is this article peer-reviewed?

Ask a Librarian!

Special Collections

Consider reaching out to our Special Collections and Rare Books department. They teach some monster-related lit courses: http://libraryguides.missouri.edu/c.php?g=28557&p=175102