Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How to Find Articles
Finding articles on your topic is a
If you already have the citation (title, author, journal title, volume/issue, DOI) use Findit@MU Article Finder.
1. Identify a database.
To find the right database, browse MU's ' Databases by Subject' or see librarians' recommendations in . Research Guides
Or use Discover@MU to search MU's collections and subscribed databases at once. This search is broad; consider refining your search by database or format such as Academic Journal, Magazine, or News.
2. Search the database. See Database Search Tips
Form a research question. Example: "how is terrorism represented in postmodern literature?"
Use important keywords or subject words that describe your topic.
Combine keywords with AND to narrow results. Example: (postmodern AND terrorism)
Combine keywords with OR to expand results. Example: (terrorism OR domestic extremism)
Scan your results and their abstracts to identify citations that seem relevant or interesting.
3. Get the full text of the article.
In many cases, databases link you to the full text directly or via FindIt@MU.
If the database you're searching has a FindIt@MU button
or "Full Text .pdf/html" link, click it. Other options for getting to the full text of an article include:
Use the FindIt@MU Article Finder. This tool allows you enter a citation to see if MU has online access to the article.
If we do not have access to the article, you may request it through Interlibrary Loan. ILL@MU Login
There is no charge for you to request articles.
Articles available electronically may take as little as one business day to recieve.
What is a peer-reviewed article? (Videos)
Video by North Carolina State University
Video by Brock University Library
Multidisciplinary Databases (a good place to start)
Discover@MU searches all of MU Libraries collections both print and digital.
JSTOR is a full-text database which provides access to the back files of over 300 scholarly journals from the sciences, social sciences and arts and humanities.
Search for Articles in JSTOR
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources, including open access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, abstracts, and patent records.
Migrated from "How to Find Articles" from MU Libraries.
Adapted from and inspired by COM, Cornell, and MIT libraries' respective "How to Find Articles" libguides.